FULL LIST: MMFF 2019 awards night winners

    MANILA, Philippines – The Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2019 awards night took place on Friday, December 27 at the New Frontier Theater, Araneta City, Quezon City. Below is a full rundown of all the winners.

    Congratulations, Judy Ann Santos! MMFF 2019 Best Actress!
    Congratulations, Judy Ann Santos! MMFF 2019 Best Actress! Photo Credit: Mindanao Facebook page

    This year's magic eight entries for the full-feature and short film categories of the MMFF are vying for the top acting awards and best picture.

    SEE ALSO'The Mall, the Merrier' hits 100M earnings, unofficial ranking revealed

    Official entries include Vice Ganda and Anne Curtis' "The Mall, The Merrier"; Aga Muhlach's "Miracle In Cell No. 7"; Coco Martin's "3pol Trobol: Huli Ka Balbon" and Vic Sotto and Maine Mendoza's "Mission Unstapabol’: The Don Identity".

    Also running in the movie theaters are Carmina Villarroel and Mylene Dizon's "Sunod"; Iza Calzado, Jasmine Curtis-Smith, Meryll Soriano's "Culion"; Judy Ann Santos and Allen Dizon's "Mindanao" and Miles Ocampo and Rocco Nacino's "Write About Love."

    UPDATE: Mindanao wins big at MMFF 2019 Gabi ng Parangal

    The eight selected short films for students are "Hipos" (Sagay National High School - Negros Occidental), "Dating App" (University of Makati), "Tabako" (University of Saint La Salle - Bacolod), "Huling Kembot ni Fernando" (Centro Escolar University - Manila), Manggagalaw (Centro Escolar University - Manila), "Bronze, Silver, Gold at Anting-anting" (De La Salle University - Integrated School Manila), "Pamana ni Lola" (Polytechnic University of the Philippines - Sta. Mesa) and "The Lost Sitty" (Adamson University).

    Here's the complete list of winners at the 2019 MMFF:

    Major Awards Winners
    Best Picture 1st: Mindanao
    2nd: Write About Love
    3rd: Sunod
    Best Actress Judy Ann Santos, Mindanao
    Best Actor Allen Dizon, Mindanao
    Best Director Brillante Mendoza, Mindanao
    Best Supporting Actress Yeng Constantino, Write About Love
    Best Supporting Actor Joem Bascon, Write About Love
    Best Child Performer Yuna Tangog, Mindanao
    Best Screenplay Write About Love
    Best Editing Write About Love
    Best Cinematography Sunod
    Best Production Design Sunod
    Best Visual Effects Mindanao
    Best Sound Design Mindanao
    Best Musical Score Write About Love
    Best Original Theme Song Write About Love

    Special Awards Winners
    Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award Mindanao
    FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence Mindanao
    Male Star of the Night Aga Muhlach
    Female Star of the Night Carmina Villaroel
    Best Ensemble Culion
    Special Jury Prize Write About Love
    Best Float Award Mindanao
    Gender Sensitivity Award Mindanao

    Short Films Category Awards Winners
    Best Short Film Pamana ni Lola, Polytechnic University of the Philippines - Sta. Mesa
    Jury Prize Student Short Film Bronze, Silver, Gold at Anting-anting, De La Salle University - Integrated School Manila

    The MMFF Hall of Fame Awards was also held as part of the larger Gabi ng Parangal. This is to recogize past award recipients who have been awarded three or more times in the same category in the past editions of the Gabi ng Parangal.

    Hall of Fame Awards:

    Best Sound Engineer
    • Ditoy Aguila
    • Michael Idioma
    • Rolly Ruta

    Best Musical Score
    • Dionisio Buencamino
    • Von De Guzman
    • Jaime Fabregas
    • Jessie Lasaten

    Best Editing
    • Vito Cajili
    • Manet Dayrit
    • Jess Navarro
    • Edgardo Vinarao

    Best Visual Effects
    • Roadrunner Network Inc.

    Best Art Director
    • Rodel Cruz
    • Joey Luna

    Best Cinematography
    • Rudy Lacap
    • Carlo Mendoza
    • Romy Vitug
    • Lee Meily

    Best Director
    • Marilou Diaz-Abaya
    • Joel Lamangan
    • Jose Javier Reyes

    Best Supporting Actress
    • Eugene Domingo
    • Cherie Gil

    Best Actor
    • Anthony Alonzo
    • Christopher de Leon
    • Cesar Montano

    Best Actress
    • Nora Aunor
    • Amy Austria
    • Vilma Santos-Recto
    • Maricel Soriano

    NOTE: You may watch the Gabi ng Parangal via livestream on Facebook (VivaEntertainment.ph).

    The traditional Parade of Stars which featured floats of the film festival's eight entries took place on December 22, 2019 in Taguig.

    MMFF nationwide screening runs from December 25 until January 7, 2020.

    Late Wednesday, December 25, spokesperson Noel Ferrer shared on Facebook the good result of the first day gross.

    "Despite the typhoon and the closing of some malls/cinemas in Visayas and Mindanao, our first day MMFF gross this year is comparable to last year’s successful opening," Ferrer said.

    READ: MMFF 2019 Update: First day gross comparable to last year

    By virtue of Metro Manila Commission Executive Order No. 86-09, pursuant to Presidential Proclamation Nos. 1459, 1485, 1533, 1533-A and 1647, the MMFF is held during the Christmas Season in recognition of the role of the film industry in providing artistic depictions of both this country's stories and history.

    — The Summit Express

    No comments

    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad