Mindanao wins big at MMFF 2019 Gabi ng Parangal

    MANILA, Philippines – Drama and animation film "Mindanao" was the big winner at the 2019 Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Gabi ng Parangal on Friday night, December 27.

    Congratulations, Judy Ann Santos! MMFF 2019 Best Actress!
    Congratulations, Judy Ann Santos! MMFF 2019 Best Actress! Photo Credit: Mindanao Facebook page

    The Brillante Mendoza-directed feature won a total of 11 awards, including best director, best picture and top acting awards for Judy Ann Santos and Allen Dizon.

    “Mindanao” touches on the armed conflict in parts of the island, intercut with an animated retelling of the Mindanao folklore of warrior brothers Rajah and Sulayman.

    The film already made waves internationally at the Cairo International Film Festival 2019 winning Best Actress for Judy Ann Santos and Henry Barakat Award for Best Artistic Contribution award for Brillante Mendoza.

    Crisanto Aquino's romance movie "Write About Love" came in second with 8 awards, including 2nd Best Picture and Best Supporting Actor and Actress for Joem Bascon and Yeng Constantino.

    Carlo Ledesma's horror film "Sunod" followed with three major awards, including 3rd Best Picture, cinematography and production design.

    Below is a full rundown of all the winners:

    Major Awards Winners
    Best Picture 1st: Mindanao
    2nd: Write About Love
    3rd: Sunod
    Best Actress Judy Ann Santos, Mindanao
    Best Actor Allen Dizon, Mindanao
    Best Director Brillante Mendoza, Mindanao
    Best Supporting Actress Yeng Constantino, Write About Love
    Best Supporting Actor Joem Bascon, Write About Love
    Best Child Performer Yuna Tangog, Mindanao
    Best Screenplay Write About Love
    Best Editing Write About Love
    Best Cinematography Sunod
    Best Production Design Sunod
    Best Visual Effects Mindanao
    Best Sound Design Mindanao
    Best Musical Score Write About Love
    Best Original Theme Song Write About Love

    Special Awards Winners
    Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award Mindanao
    FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence Mindanao
    Male Star of the Night Aga Muhlach
    Female Star of the Night Carmina Villaroel
    Best Ensemble Culion
    Special Jury Prize Write About Love
    Best Float Award Mindanao
    Gender Sensitivity Award Mindanao

    Short Films Category Awards Winners
    Best Short Film Pamana ni Lola, Polytechnic University of the Philippines - Sta. Mesa
    Jury Prize Student Short Film Bronze, Silver, Gold at Anting-anting, De La Salle University - Integrated School Manila

    The MMFF Hall of Fame Awards was also held as part of the larger Gabi ng Parangal. This is to recogize past award recipients who have been awarded three or more times in the same category in the past editions of the Gabi ng Parangal.

    Hall of Fame Awards:

    Best Sound Engineer
    • Ditoy Aguila
    • Michael Idioma
    • Rolly Ruta

    Best Musical Score
    • Dionisio Buencamino
    • Von De Guzman
    • Jaime Fabregas
    • Jessie Lasaten

    Best Editing
    • Vito Cajili
    • Manet Dayrit
    • Jess Navarro
    • Edgardo Vinarao

    Best Visual Effects
    • Roadrunner Network Inc.

    Best Art Director
    • Rodel Cruz
    • Joey Luna

    Best Cinematography
    • Rudy Lacap
    • Carlo Mendoza
    • Romy Vitug
    • Lee Meily

    Best Director
    • Marilou Diaz-Abaya
    • Joel Lamangan
    • Jose Javier Reyes

    Best Supporting Actress
    • Eugene Domingo
    • Cherie Gil

    Best Actor
    • Anthony Alonzo
    • Christopher de Leon
    • Cesar Montano

    Best Actress
    • Nora Aunor
    • Amy Austria
    • Vilma Santos-Recto
    • Maricel Soriano

    — The Summit Express
    Comment Section

    Other Stories

    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad