FULL LIST: Winners, MMFF 2023 awards night

MANILA, Philippines – The Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2023 Gabi ng Parangal (Awards Night) was held on Wednesday, December 27 at the New Frontier Theater in Quezon City. Below is a full rundown of all the winners.

FULL LIST: Winners, MMFF 2023 awards night

The 49th edition of the annual MMFF, with the theme “Tara na! Makisaya!” (Let’s go have fun!), aims to promote family bonding and cultural appreciation.

The movies were selected from a record-high 30 submissions, according to the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA). This year, 10 were chosen instead of the usual eight.


Official entries include Sharon Cuneta and Alden Richards' "Family of Two"; Matteo Guidicelli and Cristine Reyes' "Penduko"; Marian Rivera and Dingdong Dantes' "Rewind" and Beauty Gonzalez and Derek Ramsay's "Kampon."

Also part of the festival are Eugene Domingo and Pokwang's "Becky & Badette"; Christian Bables and Jaclyn Jose's "Broken Hearts Trip"; Alessandra de Rossi and Euwenn Mikaell's "Firefly"; Dante Rivero, Cedric Juan, Enchong Dee, Piolo Pascual's "GomBurZa"; Piolo Pascual, Janella Salvador's "Mallari" and Vilma Santos, Christopher de Leon's "When I Met You In Tokyo".

Producers and cinema operators are expecting for big winners tonight to bounce back on ticket sales after some entries were reported to have a slow start in the box-office.

Here's MMFF 2023 complete list of winners:

Major Awards Winners
Best Picture 1st: Firefly
2nd: GomBurZa
3rd: Mallari
4th: When I Met You in Tokyo
Best Actress in a Leading Role Vilma Santos - When I Met You in Tokyo
Best Actor in a Leading Role Cedrick Juan - GomBurZa
Best Director Pepe Diokno - GomBurZa
Best Actress in a Supporting Role Miles Ocampo - Family of Two
Best Actor in a Supporting Role JC Santos - Mallari
Best Child Performer Euwenn Mikaell - Firefly
Best Screenplay Angeli Atienza - Firefly
Best Editing Benjamin Tolentino - Kampon
Best Cinematography Carlo Canlas Mendoza - GomBurZa
Best Production Design Ericson Navarro - GomBurZa
Best Visual Effects Gaspar Mangarin - Mallari
Best Sound Melvin Q. Rivera and Louie Boy Bauson - GomBurZa
Best Musical Score Von de Guzman - Mallari
Best Original Theme Song Finggah Lickin - Becky and Badette

Special Awards Winners
Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award GomBurZa
FPJ Memorial Award When I Met You in Tokyo
Manay Ichu Vera Perez Memorial Award Mother Lily Yu Monteverde
Best Float Award When I Met You In Tokyo
Gender Sensitivity Award Becky and Badette

The Gabi ng Parangal was hosted by Giselle Sanchez and Eisel Serrano.

Watch the livestream of the ceremony at 8:00PM via MMFF Facebook page and on One PH on TV. It will have a delayed telecast via TV5 at 10:45PM.

While there's no official announcement yet of the topgrossers, reports said that Rewind, Mallari, Penduko, Family of Two (A Mother and Son Story), and Kampon are among the front runners in the box office.

By virtue of Metro Manila Commission Executive Order No. 86-09, pursuant to Presidential Proclamation Nos. 1459, 1485, 1533, 1533-A and 1647, the MMFF is held during the Christmas Season in recognition of the role of the film industry in providing artistic depictions of both this country's stories and history.

MMFF nationwide screening runs from December 25 until January 7, 2024.

— The Summit Express

1 Comment

Add a comment here
Previous Post Next Post