NCR Plus to shift to ‘ordinary’ GCQ by mid-June?

MANILA, Philippines – The quarantine classifications over Metro Manila and four nearby provinces may be eased by mid-June as COVID-19 cases in the bubble decline, Malacañang said.

NCR Plus to shift to ‘ordinary’ GCQ by mid-June?
President Rodrigo Roa Duterte presides over the meeting with the Inter-Agency Task Force on the Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) core members prior to his talk to the people. Photo via PCOO

In a virtual presser on Thursday, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said the healthcare utilization rate in Metro Manila is “looking good” and “remains very low.”

UPDATE: Duterte announces June 16-30, 2021 quarantine classifications

“Based on the figures, Metro Manila Plus might be looking at the de-escalation. It might not be to MGCQ (modified GCQ) but it could be to ordinary GCQ because ang GCQ po natin ngayon ay mayroon pang mga restriction,” Roque said.

Roque noted that only 53 percent of intensive care unit (ICU) beds, 39 percent of isolation beds, 37 percent of ward beds, and 35 percent of ventilators have been utilized in Metro Manila, as of June 9.

The capital region including Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal, or the NCR Plus now contributes only 27 percent of COVID-19 cases in the country's daily tally from 97 percent during its peak between March 29 to April 4, the OCTA Research Group said Saturday.

In Metro Manila alone, the average daily number of new cases went down by 17 percent to 926 in the June 4-10 period, from 1,116 in the previous period.

Health Undersecretary Maria Rosario Vergeire said the average daily cases reached 4,000 to 5,000 during the outbreak, but if the downward trend continues, the NCR might reach the "safe zone" soon.

"Nakita natin na na-decongest din ang mga ospital ngunit ang aming tinitignan ngayon ay ang Visayas at Mindanao kung saan nakakakita po tayo ng mga pagkapuno ng ospital," she said.

The NCR Plus, home to some 24 million people, is under GCQ with additional restrictions until June 15.

Other areas under GCQ until the end of June include Abra, Baguio City, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Batangas, Quezon, Iligan City, Davao City, Lanao del Sur, Cotabato City, and General Santos City.

The more restrictive modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) is imposed in Davao City until June 20 and the City of Santiago, Cagayan, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Puerto Princesa, Iloilo City, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City, Butuan City, and Agusan del Sur in Caraga until June 15.

The rest of the country remains under the least restrictive modified GCQ.

President Rodrigo Duterte is expected to announce the new quarantine classifications by Monday, June 14 in his Talk to the Nation.

— The Summit Express

Add a comment here (0)
Previous Post Next Post