Duterte extends GCQ in Metro Manila, places Cebu City under ECQ

MANILA, Philippines – President Rodrigo Duterte approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) extending the general community quarantine (GCQ) in Metro Manila and placing Cebu City under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) starting June 16 to stem the spread of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) in the country.

Duterte extends GCQ in Metro Manila, places Cebu City under ECQ
President Rodrigo Roa Duterte holds a meeting with members of the Inter-Agency Task Force on the Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) at the Malago Clubhouse in Malacañang on June 15, 2020. Photo courtesy of PCOO.

The increasing number of new cases and widespread community transmission in majority of barangays in the city, as well as consistent case doubling time of less than seven (7) days and significant increase in critical care utilization against critical care capacity were the reasons cited why Cebu City reverted back to ECQ.

LIVESTREAM: Duterte addresses the nation June 15 on GCQ, MGCQ fate

Talisay City, a component city under the province of Cebu, is placed under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) until June 30, for the same reasons.

The following areas likewise placed under GCQ until month's end:

  • Cagayan
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Quirino
  • Santiago City in Region II
  • Aurora
  • Bataan
  • Bulacan
  • Tarlac
  • Olongapo City in Region III
  • Cavite
  • Laguna
  • Batangas
  • Rizal
  • Quezon
  • Occidental Mindoro

  • Bohol
  • Cebu
  • Negros Oriental
  • Siquijor
  • Mandaue City
  • Lapu-Lapu City

  • Davao City
  • Zamboanga City

The rest of the country remains under modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) until June 30.

President Duterte placed the entire Luzon island under ECQ in mid-March to prevent the further spread of COVID-19.

As of Monday, the Philippines recorded 26,420 cases, with 1,098 deaths and 6,252 recoveries.

— The Summit Express

Add a comment here (0)
Previous Post Next Post