Champions again! SMB wins 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup title

MANILA, Philippines – Never underestimate the heart of a champion. The San Miguel Beermen (SMB) started from the bottom in the beginning of the conference but tonight, the San Miguel Beermen are the 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup champions after downsizing league-leader TNT Katropa, 102-90 on Friday, August 16, 2019 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.
Champions again! SMB wins 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup title

Champions again! SMB wins 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup title
SMB’s replacement import Chris McCullough is now a PBA Champ! Credit:

TNT’s back is against the wall. Heavy pressure is on every Katropa especially its super import, Terrence Jones. Just like any of his past games, he started hot from both the inside and the outside for the early lead.

Terrence Jones recently expressed his dismay towards Arwind Santos’ monkey gestures in the previous game. Santos was slapped with a Php 200,000 fine, 100 hours of community service and guidance and counselling by Commissioner Willie Marcial.

The Beermen on the other hand, had no other things in mind but to finish TNT off tonight and win the Commissioner’s Cup title.

FULL REPLAY: San Miguel vs TNT Game 6 PBA Commissioner's Cup Finals 2019

Overshadowed by the TNT’s reinforcement, Chris McCullough, SMB’s timely game 5 hero picked up his momentum earlier than usual and was instrumental in his team’s lead after the opening quarter, 26-19.

Aside from McCullough, Christian Standhardinger contributed significant numbers in SMB’s 1st half success. Not only Standhardinger did well offensively, his glue-tight defense made it hard for Jones to score in the 2nd period.

San Miguel maintained a double-digit lead in the second and Jayson Castro’s 3 personal fouls was also a big factor in the Beermen’s advantage over TNT.

TNT tried to catch up with San Miguel but the team’s shooting was simply horrible and the players can’t build any momentum that paved the way for SMB to end the half with a 45-35 lead.

Jones and McCullough intensified their duel in the 3rd quarter. Both imports squared up and traded baskets. Terrence Jones however, obtained his 4th personal with over 7 minutes left.

San Miguel escalated its lead to 19 but TNT through the gallant efforts of Roger Pogoy and Jayson Castro made a decent scoring run and trimmed it to a dozen.

The Beermen got rattled by TNT’s scoring barrage and started to miss their shots in the last few minutes of the penultimate quarter.

Although down by 11, 74-63, TNT was still in the game and on track as they entered the final canto of the ballgame.

TNT’s hope slowly dimmed as SMB ramped up its margin anew in the 4th quarter plus Terrence Jones got his 5th personal with more than 8 minutes remaining.

The final period of the game was all about Chris McCullough and Christian Standhardinger for San Miguel as the duo made a big impact especially in countering TNT’s comeback attempt.

At the 4th-minute mark, Jayson Castro got fouled out of the game after intentionally committing 2 consecutive fouls out of frustration due to alleged non-calls on TNT by the referees.

The Beermen started to celebrate with a minute left on the game clock after McCullough made a monster dunk and increased their lead to 17.

Terrence Jones scored more points but it was too late for TNT. The final buzzer finally sounded and San Miguel officially ended the series 102-90 and claimed the 2019 Commissioner’s Cup title, SMB’s 2nd straight championship this season.

After the game, Terrence Romeo, the newest Beerman and total game-changer won the Finals MVP.

Congratulations, SMB! Fear The Beer!

— Joey Boy Capos, The Summit Express

Previous Post Next Post