Magnitude 6.1 earthquake shakes Metro Manila, Luzon on April 22, 2019

    MANILA, Philippines - (UPDATED) The Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) reported a magnitude 6.1 earthquake that shook parts of Metro Manila and Luzon on Monday afternoon, April 22, 2019.
    Magnitude 5.7 earthquake shakes Metro Manila, Luzon

    The exact time of occurrence was recorded at 05:11 p.m. with epicenter at 14.99N, 120.35E - 018 km N 67° E of Castillejos, Zambales.

    The earthquake that occurred has a tectonic origin with 12 km depth of focus.

    UPDATE: Death toll rises to 8 as buildings collapse in magnitude 6.1 Luzon earthquake

    The strong quake was felt at Intensity V in San Felipe, Zambales; Malolos and Obando, Bulacan; Quezon City; Lipa, Batangas; City of Manila; Abucay, Bataan; Valenzuela City; Magalang, Pampanga.

    Intensity IV - Pasig City; Makati City; Caloocan City; Meycauayan and San Jose del Monte, Bulacan; Floridablanca, Pampanga; Villasis, Pangasinan; Tagaytay City; Villasis, Pangasinan; Baguio City; Marikina City; Las Piñas City

    Intensity III - Dasmariñas, Indang, and General Trias, Cavite; Lucban, Quezon; Muntinlupa City; Cabanatuan City, Palayan City, Gapan City, Santo Domingo and Talavera, Nueva Ecija

    Intensity II - Baler, Aurora.

    Instrumental Intensities:

    Intensity V - Angeles City; Malolos, Bulacan;

    Intensity IV - Quezon City; San Juan City; Pasig City; Muntinlupa City; Gapan City; Cabanatuan City; Tagaytay City; San Ildefonso, Bulacan

    Intensity III - Mauban, Quezon; Talisay, Batangas; Guagua, Pampanga; Olongapo City

    Intensity II - Lucena City; Dolores and Lucban, Quezon; Dagupan City; Daet, Camarines Norte

    Intensity I - Guinayangan, Quezon; Calatagan, Batangas; Magalang, Pampanga; Sinait, Ilocos Sur

    Magnitude 6.1 earthquake shakes Metro Manila, Luzon on April 22, 2019
    Magnitude 6.1 earthquake shakes Metro Manila, Luzon on April 22, 2019

    Followers of The Summit Express said they felt the earthquake in Metro Manila, Laguna, Bulacan, Cavite, Pangasinan, Tarlac, Rizal, Bataan, La Union, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga and Zambales.

    Phivolcs warned that damage and aftershocks are expected.

    Source: Phivolcs

    — The Summit Express
    Comment Section

    Other Stories

    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad