'Rainbow's Sunset', 'Aurora' win big at MMFF 2018 Awards Night

MANILA, Philippines – An LGBT-themed film starring Eddie Garcia and Tony Mabesa and a horror drama thriller were the runaway winners at the 44th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) awards ceremony held on Thursday, December 27 at The Theatre at Solaire in Parañaque City.

'Rainbow's Sunset', 'Aurora' win big at MMFF 2018 Awards Night
Congratulations to Team 'Rainbow's Sunset' and 'Aurora' for bagging MMFF 2018 major awards!

"Rainbow's Sunset" took home the Best Picture award. Gloria Romero bagged the Best Actress trophy while Joel Lamangan won the Best Director. Also in the winning circle were Tony Mabesa and Aiko Melendez, Best Supporting Actor and Actress, respectively.

The film also won other awards such as Best Screenplay, Best Production Design and Best Original Theme Song. It was also honored with three special awards, namely Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award, Special Jury Prize for an Actor and Actress.

Meanwhile, Anne Curtis' "Aurora" was hailed 2nd Best Picture.

"Aurora" also bagged Best Child Performer award for Phoebe Villamor, Best Cinematography, Best Visual Effects, and Best Sound Design.

Dennis Trillo, Kim Chiu and JC De Vera's "One Great Love was named 3rd Best Picture. It also won two other awards which included Best Actor for Trillo and Best Musical Score.

Coco Martin, Vic Sotto and Maine Mendoza's “Jack Em Popoy: The Puliscredibles" won the Best Editing award and FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence special award.

Vice Ganda, Dingdong Dantes and Richard Gutierrez's "Fantastica: The Princess, The Prince and The Perya", Toni and Alex Gonzaga and Sam Milby's "Mary, Marry Me", Ricci Rivero and Jerome Ponce's "Otlum" and Jericho Rosales and Jessy Mendiola's "The Girl in the Orange Dress" failed to bag a single major award.


"Fantastica", “Jack Em Popoy" and "Aurora" were the top 3 movies on opening day of MMFF 2018.

Here's the full list of winners:

Major Awards Winners
Best Picture 1st: Rainbow’s Sunset
2nd: Aurora
3rd: One Great Love
Best Actress Gloria Romero, Rainbow’s Sunset
Best Actor Dennis Trillo, One Great Love
Best Director Joel Lamangan, Rainbow’s Sunset
Best Supporting Actress Aiko Melendez, Rainbow’s Sunset
Best Supporting Actor Tony Mabesa, Rainbow’s Sunset
Best Child Performer Phoebe Villamor, Aurora
Best Screenplay Rainbow's Sunset
Best Editing Jack Em Popoy
Best Cinematography Aurora
Best Production Design Rainbow's Sunset
Best Visual Effects Aurora
Best Sound Design Aurora
Best Musical Score One Great Love
Best Original Theme Song Sa'yo Na, Rainbow's Sunset

Special Awards Winners
Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award Rainbow's Sunset
FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence Jack Em Popoy
Lucky Male Star of the Night Jericho Rosales
Lucky Female Star of the Night Anne Curtis
Best Float Award Jack Em Popoy
Special Jury Prize for an Actress Max Collins, Rainbow's Sunset
Special Jury Prize for an Actor Eddie Garcia, Rainbow's Sunset

Short Films Category Awards Winners
Best Short Film Kasilyas, Bulacan State University

— The Summit Express

Previous Post Next Post