MMFF 2018 awards night: Full list of winners

MANILA, Philippines – The 44th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) executive committee announced the full list of winners at the 2018 awards night (Gabi ng Parangal) held at The Theatre at Solaire in Parañaque City on Thursday, December 27.

MMFF 2018 awards night: Full list of winners
This year's magic eight entries for the full-feature and short film categories of the MMFF are vying for the top acting awards and best picture.


Official entries include Vice Ganda, Dingdong Dantes and Richard Gutierrez's "Fantastica: The Princess, The Prince and The Perya", Coco Martin, Vic Sotto and Maine Mendoza's “Jack Em Popoy: The Puliscredibles", Anne Curtis' "Aurora", Jericho Rosales and Jessy Mendiola's "The Girl in the Orange Dress".

Also in the movie theaters today are Toni and Alex Gonzaga and Sam Milby's "Mary, Marry Me", Ricci Rivero and Jerome Ponce's "Otlum", Eddie Garcia and Tony Mabesa's "Rainbow’s Sunset" and Dennis Trillo, Kim Chiu and JC De Vera's "One Great Love."

The eight selected short films for students are "Balita" (Centro Escolar University), "Binibini 14. Beverly Lagdameo" (De La Salle – College of St. Benilde), "Dalawampung Pisong Pag-asa" (St. Dominic College of Asia), "Kasilyas" (Bulacan State University), "Padyak" (Northern Mindanao Colleges), "Paraiso" (University of the Philippines Diliman), Tahanan (Catanduanes State University) and "Sasagot Ka Pa?" (De La Salle – College of St. Benilde).

Here's the complete list of winners at the 2018 MMFF

Major Awards Winners
Best Picture 1st: Rainbow’s Sunset
2nd: Aurora
3rd: One Great Love
Best Actress Gloria Romero, Rainbow’s Sunset
Best Actor Dennis Trillo, One Great Love
Best Director Joel Lamangan, Rainbow’s Sunset
Best Supporting Actress Aiko Melendez, Rainbow’s Sunset
Best Supporting Actor Tony Mabesa, Rainbow’s Sunset
Best Child Performer Phoebe Villamor, Aurora
Best Screenplay Rainbow's Sunset
Best Editing Jack Em Popoy
Best Cinematography Aurora
Best Production Design Rainbow's Sunset
Best Visual Effects Aurora
Best Sound Design Aurora
Best Musical Score One Great Love
Best Original Theme Song Sa'yo Na, Rainbow's Sunset

Special Awards Winners
Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award Rainbow's Sunset
FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence Jack Em Popoy
Lucky Male Star of the Night Jericho Rosales
Lucky Female Star of the Night Anne Curtis
Best Float Award Jack Em Popoy
Special Jury Prize for an Actress Max Collins, Rainbow's Sunset
Special Jury Prize for an Actor Eddie Garcia, Rainbow's Sunset

Short Films Category Awards Winners
Best Short Film Kasilyas, Bulacan State University

Watch the delayed telecast of the awards night this Sunday, December 30, 2018 on ABS-CBN Sunday's Best after Gandang Gabi Vice (GGV).

The festival kicked off with the Parade of Stars in Parañaque City on December 23.

Nationwide screening is set from December 25 until January 7, 2019.

On Wednesday, December 26, MMFF 2018 Spokesperson Noel Ferrer revealed in an interview with DZMM that Fantastica, Jack Em Popoy and Aurora topped the box-office.

READ: MMFF 2018 Day 1 results: Top 4 grossing films update

Ferrer added that this year's festival aims to net ₱1 billion.

By virtue of Metro Manila Commission Executive Order No. 86-09, pursuant to Presidential Proclamation Nos. 1459, 1485, 1533, 1533-A and 1647, the MMFF is held during the Christmas Season in recognition of the role of the film industry in providing artistic depictions of both this country's stories and history.

— The Summit Express

Previous Post Next Post