FULL LIST: Winners, MMFF 2017 awards night

MANILA, Philippines - (Updated) The 43rd Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) executive committee announced the full list of winners at the 2017 awards night (Gabi ng Parangal) held on Wednesday, December 27 at the Kia Theatre, Araneta Center in Cubao, Quezon City.

FULL LIST: Winners, MMFF 2017 awards night
The 2017 Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) winners. Photo courtesy of Twitter/MJ Felipe

This year's magic eight entries for the full-feature and short film categories of the MMFF are vying for the top acting awards and best picture.

Official entries include Derek Ramsey and Jennylyn Mercado's "All of You," Coco Martin's "Ang Panday," Vice Ganda, Daniel Padilla and Pia Wurtzbach's "Gandarrapiddo: The Revenger Squad" and Vic Sotto and Dawn Zulueta's "Meant To Beh."

Also in the movie theaters today are Joross Gamboa and Edgar Allan Guzman's "Deadma Walking," Jane Oineza's "Haunted Forest," Rachel Alejandro and Paulo Avelino's "Ang Larawan," and Jericho Rosales, Erich Gonzales and Jasmine Curtis-Smith's "Siargao."

Derek Ramsay (All of You) and Joanna Ampil (Ang Larawan) won the MMFF 2017 Best Actor and Actress awards, respectively.

Meanwhile, Paul Soriano bagged the Best Director award for "Siargao." "Ang Larawan" was also named first Best Picture of the festival.


Short films are "Anino" by Malaya Ad Castillo, "Anong Nangyari kay Nicanor Dante?" by Brian Spencer Reyes, "Black Market" by Gio Gonzalves, "Crab Mental" by Joaquin Bamba, "Gunita" by Ryceanne Marie Manlulu, "Isang Gabi" by Gio Gonzalves, "Kinalimutan Natin ang mga Bata" by Gilb Baldoza and "Noel" by Win Gonzales.

The awards night features the newly designed trophy by art designer Clifford Espinosa of Espinosa Arts and Design.

Here's the complete list of winners for the 2017 MMFF (updated):

Major Awards Winners
Best Picture 1st: Ang Larawan
2nd: Siargao
3rd: All of You
Best Actress Joanna Ampil, Ang Larawan
Best Actor Derek Ramsay, All of You
Best Director Paul Soriano, Siargao
Best Supporting Actress Jasmin Curtis Smith, Siargao
Best Supporting Actor Edgar Allan Guzman, Deadma Walking
Best Child Performer Baeby Baste, Meant To Beh
Best Screenplay All of You
Best Editing Mark Victor, Siargao
Best Cinematography Odyssey Flores, Siargao
Best Production Design Gino Gonzales, Ang Larawan
Best Visual Effects Ang Panday
Best Sound Siargao
Best Musical Score Ryan Cayabyab, Ang Larawan
Best Original Theme Song Alon by Hale, Siargao

Special Awards Winners
Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award Ang Larawan
FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence Ang Panday
Male Star of the Night Derek Ramsay
Female Star of the Night Erich Gonzales
Best Float Award Deadma Walking
Children's Choice Ang Panday
People's Choice The Revenger Squad
First Special Jury Prize Nick Joaquin, Ang Larawan
Second Special Jury Prize Coco Martin, Ang Panday

Short Films Category Awards Winners
Best Short Film Anong Nangyari kay Nicanor Dante
Audience Choice Award Noel

The television coverage of the awards night will be aired on TV5 at 4:15 p.m on Thursday, December 28.

The festival kicked off with the Parade of Stars in Muntinlupa City on December 23.

Nationwide screening is set from December 25 until January 7, 2018.

While the official ranking and gross income of respective films were not announced per agreement of the MMFF Executive Committee (Execom), producers and theater representatives, it was revealed that this year's festival broke box-office records.

"This year’s Metro Manila Film Festival broke box-office records as it surpassed the 2015 first and second day gross sales. It also tripled the foot traffic to the theaters from last year," MMFF shared on their official Facebook page.

“The big achievement is bringing back our kababayans to the theaters. It took quite some time before we saw this kind of enthusiasm once again from the Filipino viewers,” said MMFF Execom Chair Tim Orbos.

By virtue of Metro Manila Commission Executive Order No. 86-09, pursuant to Presidential Proclamation Nos. 1459, 1485, 1533, 1533-A and 1647, the MMFF is held during the Christmas Season in recognition of the role of the film industry in providing artistic depictions of both this country's stories and history.

— The Summit Express

Previous Post Next Post