2017 PBA Rookie Draft: Standhardinger officially joins SMB for the top pick

MANILA, Philippines - As expected, Christian Standhardinger was chosen number 1 overall pick by San Miguel Beermen (SMB) in the 2017 PBA Rookie Draft event on October 29 at Robinson’s Place Manila.

Standhardinger officially joins SMB for the top pick
Christian Standhardinger joins San Miguel Beermen for the 1st overall pick. Photo Credit: Philstar
Prior to the start of Ginebra-Meralco sudden death Game 7, Commissioner Chito Narvasa approved the proposed trade between Kia and SMB where the Beermen will have the 1st pick of this year’s Rookie Draft while Picanto will have Rashawn McCarthy, Jay-R Reyes, Ronald Tubid and SMB’s 2019 1st Round Pick.

The trade garnered different reactions from the fans and some of the PBA players. Even the approver, Commissioner Narvasa himself didn’t avoid the criticism. But newly appointed Team Manager, Joe Lipa, defended the team’s decision on letting go of their precious pick to fortify Kia Picanto in the league’s standing.

Lipa stated that 3 players are better than one and a single player can’t make the team better. He also highlighted his new players’ strength specifically Jay-R Reyes, a big man who can run and score from the outside.

As the annual Philippine basketball event started, Commissioner Chito Narvasa has officially opened the 2017 Rookie Draft and the San Miguel Beermen has officially picked the 6’8” Fil-German Christian Standhardinger.

Standhardinger has proven himself to be a top scorer and tough defender during his Gilas Pilipinas tenure. Playing alongside with the 4-time MVP June Mar Fajardo will give SMB another chance to win more titles. However, Christian Standhardinger will not be available this coming All-Filipino Cup as he has just signed a 6-month contract for the Hong Kong Eastern Long Lions in the ABL.

NLEX Road Warriors on the other hand selected King Eagle Kiefer Ravena. During the the Governor’s Cup eliminations, Coach Yeng Guiao expressed his intention to get Ravena that will bring depth to his backcourt.

On pick number 3, Blackwater Elite opted for a big men in person of Reymar Jose who will complement its current center Poy Eram.

Jason Perkins went to Phoenix Fuel Masters at the 4th pick. While Alaska Aces chose Jeron Teng at the 5th spot. Perkins and Teng both played for De La Salle University and won a championship together. Jeron Teng who’s a legit scorer, will definitely help the Aces improve their standing come Philippine Cup opener next month.

PBA D-Leaguer Robert Herndon Jr. was selected by Globalport Batang Pier at the 6th pick and Rain Or Shine obtained Letran Knight Rey Nambatac for pick number 7.

For the 2nd time and for the 8th pick, Phoenix Fuel Masters chose a big man: Sidney Onwubere who stands at 6’5”. The former Emilio Aguinaldo General is expected to bring more firepower to his new team.

Lervin Flores went straight to Star Hot Shots for pick number 9. Coach Chito Victolero opted for a big man who can back-up veteran Jean Marc Pingris and Ian Sangalang.

Unheralded Mark Tallo joins TNT Jayson Castro and Roger Pogoy in the backcourt while 6’5” Jon Gabriel joins Moala Tautuaa and Kelly Williams in the front court for the 10th and 11th pick respectively.

Governors Cup Champions Barangay Ginebra picked former UP Maroon and gunner Jett Manuel for the last pick of the 1st round.

Surprisingly a handful of notable draftees went teamless on the 1st round. The likes of Davon Potts, Julian Sargent, Biboy Enguio and Joseph Gabayni were still hopeful to be on any team come 2nd round.

Here’s the summary of 2nd, 3rd and 4th round picks:

Second Round:

1st Pick - John Grospe (NLEX Road Warriors)
2nd Pick - Joseph Gabayni (Star Hotshots)
3rd Pick - Emil Palma (Blackwater Elite)
4th Pick - Julian Sargent (Star Hotshots)
5th Pick - Louie Vigil (San Miguel Beermen)
6th Pick - Davon Potts (Alaska Aces)
7th Pick - Jomari Sollano (Rain Or Shine)
8th Pick - Gwynne Capacio (Star Hotshots)
9th Pick - Jayson Grimaldo (Phoenix Fuel Masters)
10th Pick - Monbert Arong (TNT Ka-Tropa)
11th Pick - Wilson Baltazar (Phoenix Fuel Masters)
12th Pick - Andreas Cahilig (Globalport Batang Pier)

Third Round:

1st Pick - Chris De Chavez (Kia Picanto)
2nd Pick - Gabriel Dagangon (NLEX Road Warriors)
3rd Pick - Biboy Enguio (Blackwater Elite)
4th Pick - Roldan Sara (Phoenix Fuel Masters)
5th Pick - Zachary Nicholls (Globalport Batang Pier)
6th Pick - Pass (Alaska Aces)
7th Pick - Michael Juico (Rain Or Shine Elasto Painters)
8th Pick - Jebb Bulawan (Meralco Bolts)
9th Pick - Thomas Torres (Star Hotshots)
10th Pick - Dave Moralde (TNT Ka-Tropa)
11th Pick - Jerome Ortega (San Miguel Beermen)
12th Pick - Elmer Cabahug (Barangay Ginebra)

Fourth Round:

1st Pick - Arvie Bringas (Kia Picanto)
2nd Pick - Felix Apreku Jr. (NLEX Road Warriors)
3rd Pick - Kyle Neypes (Blackwater Elite)
4th Pick - John Casino (Phoenix Fuel Masters)
5th Pick - Gian Abrigo (Globalport Batang Pier)
6th Pick - Pass (Rain Or Shine Elasto Painters)
7th Pick - Pass (Meralco Bolts)
8th Pick - Pass (Star Hotshots)
9th Pick - Pass (TNT Ka-Tropa)
10th Pick - Joseph Nalos (San Miguel Beermen)
11th Pick - Pass (Barangay Ginebra)

Fifth Round:

1st Pick - Christian Geronimo (Kia Picanto)
2nd Pick - Pass
3rd Pick - Jhon Sumido (Blackwater Elite)

Among the 44 draft hopefuls, Jeremiah Dela Pena was the only draftee who was not selected. The Rookies will undergo rigorous training under their new teams and will fight for roster spots that will ensure them long-term contracts.

— Joey Boy Capos, The Summit Express

Previous Post Next Post