Class, work suspensions for Thursday, July 17, 2014 | #WalangPasok

Manila, Philippines - Some local government units (LGUs) and schools announce class suspensions for tomorrow, July 17, 2014 (Thursday) due to the effects of Typhoon 'Glenda'. The advisories were released through social media early Wednesday, July 16.

Class, work suspensions for Thursday, July 17, 2014 | #WalangPasok

At 4:00 PM today, PAGASA advised that the eye of Typhoon "Glenda" was located at 160 km West of Olongapo. By tomorrow morning, it will be at 450 km West of Laoag City, Ilocos Norte or outside the Philippine Area of Responsibility (PAR).

Related:  Storm Signals lowered as Typhoon 'Glenda' moves away from PAR

Here's the updated list of class suspensions for Thursday, July 17, 2014 due to Typhoon Glenda #GlendaPH as of 11:30PM (refresh page for more updates):

  • Albay: All levels until Friday, July 18
  • Bataan: All level
  • Batangas: All levels
  • Bulacan: Preschool to high school in Malolos City
  • Camarines Sur: All levels until Friday, July 18
  • Cavite: All levels
  • Laguna: All levels; Also government offices except those involved in disaster operations
  • Pampanga: Preschool only in San Fernando City
  • Quezon: All levels
  • Rizal: Preschool to high school in Antipolo City, Cainta, and Taytay; All levels in Angono and San Mateo
  • Zambales: Preschool to high school in Olongapo City


  • Las Pinas: Preschool to high school
  • Makati City: All levels
  • Malabon: All levels
  • Mandaluyong: All levels
  • Marikina City: All levels
  • Muntinlupa: Preschool to high school, public only
  • Navotas: All levels
  • Paranaque: All levels
  • Pasay City: Preschool to high schools
  • Pasig: Preschool only
  • Pateros: All levels
  • Quezon City: Preschool to high school
  • San Juan: All levels
  • Taguig: Preschool to high school, public only


  • Ateneo: All levels in Loyola Heights campus
  • Bicol University
  • CEU Makati
  • CEU Malolos, including office work
  • City University of Pasay
  • De La Salle - College of St. Benilde
  • DLSU Manila, including office work
  • Far Eastern University: Manila and Makati campuses
  • Jose Rizal University
  • La Consolacion: Preschool to high school
  • Letran Manila
  • Lyceum of the Philippines University Manila: Classes and office work
  • Manila Tytana Colleges
  • Miriam College: Classes and office work
  • National University: Classes and office work
  • Philippine College of Criminology: Classes at all levels and office work
  • Polytechnic University of the Philippines: San Juan, Batangas and Laguna campuses
  • Saint Francis of Assisi College
  • San Beda College
  • St. Paul University Manila
  • University of Asia & the Pacific: Classes and office work
  • University of the East: Preschool to high school in Manila and  Caloocan campuses
  • University of the Philippines Manila
  • University of Santo Tomas

The list above is based on online monitoring. We will update this list as soon as new announcements are made or reported. For areas and schools not on the list, it means there is no announcement yet.

Department of Education (DepEd) said that according to rules, LGU officials are the authority to declare suspension of classes. Students are advised to closely monitor updates using #walangpasok hashtag on Twitter.

Previous Post Next Post