ESPN honors Donaire as 2012 'Boxer of the Year'

    Leader in sports coverage, ESPN on it's website reveals 'the boxer of the year' award for 2012. Dan Rafael of ESPN.com honors "The Filipino Flash" Nonito Donaire for the title.

    Nonito Donaire is ESPN's 'boxer of the year'
    Photo: Nonito Donaire is ESPN's 'boxer of the year'

    "It might sound strange, but no, Manny Pacquiao was not the best fighter from the Philippines in 2012. That honor goes to "The Filipino Flash," junior featherweight titlist Nonito Donaire, who had a year for the ages.", Rafael said.

    Donaire is a four-division world champion and the reigning WBO, The Ring and WBC Diamond Super Bantamweight Champion before his very busy schedules of 2012. He vacated bantamweight belts this year for  junior featherweight fights. Powerful and brainy Nonito set standards for knocking out 2 out of 4 opponents on his elite championship this year.

    He is the only fighter in the world who has signed on with the Voluntary Anti-Doping Association for random urine and blood testing 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year, ESPN said.

    Among his contenders for 2012 are Wilfredo Vazquez Jr. of Puerto Rico, South Africa's Jeffrey Mathebula, Toshiaki Nishioka of Japan and Jorge Arce of Mexico.

    ESPN also listed Juan Manuel Marquez, Danny Garcia, Robert Guerrero, Leo Santa Cruz, Andre Ward, Carl Froch, and fellow Filipino Brian Viloria as candidates for 2012 'boxer of the year' award.

    Last year, it was Andre Ward of America got the highly anticipated title. On the other hand, 'Pinoy Pride' Manny Pacquiao was named 'boxer of the year' for two consecutive years- 2008 to 2009 and last 2006.


    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad