2012 MMFF List of Winners Announced; Star Cinema movies reign supreme on box-office

    Two days after the successful nationwide showing of 2012 Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) for eight official entries on mainstream, winners were revealed at awards night held in Meralco Theather, Pasig City  December 27, 2012. Mark Meily's 'El Presidente', Brillante Mendoza's 'Thy Womb' and Ruel S. Bayani's 'One More Try' got the big awards this year. Winners of the Cinephone and Feature Films were also announced.
    38th Metro Manila Film Festival List of winners
    Photo: 38th Metro Manila Film Festival

    Awarded director Brillante Mendoza was hailed best director by MMFF for "Thy Womb". For second consecutive year, Dingdong Dantes got Best Actor Award for superb performnace in "One More Try".

    It was noted that three films this year - "Agimat", "Strangers" and "Sosy Problems" did not received any awards.

    Here is the full list of winners for the 38th MMFF:

    Mainstream Films Category:
    Best Actor: Dingdong Dantes ("One More Try")
    Best Actress: Nora Aunor ("Thy Womb")
    Best Director: Brillante Mendoza ("Thy Womb")
    Best Original Story: "Thy Womb"
    Best Screenplay: "One More Try"
    Best Supporting Actress: Wilma Doesnt ("Sisterakas")
    Best Supporting Actor: Cesar Montano ("El Presidente")
    Best Editing: Vito Kahili ("One More Try")
    Best Cinematography: "Thy Womb"
    Best Production Design: "Thy Womb"
    Best Visual Effects: "Shake, Rattle, and Roll 14: The Invasion"
    Best Make-up: "El Presidente"
    Best Theme Song: Apl De Ap and Jamir Garcia of Slapsh0ck ("El Presidente")
    Best Musical Score: Jessie Lasaten ("El Presidente")
    Best Sound Engineer: Albert Idioma ("El Presidente")
    Best Child Actor: Miguel Vergara ("One More Try")
    FPJ Memorial Award: "One More Try"
    Most Gender-Sensitive Film Award: "Thy Womb"
    Youth Choice Award: "El Presidente"
    Best Float: "El Presidente"
    MMFF 3rd Best Picture: "Sisterakas"
    MMFF 2nd Best Picture: "El Presidente"
    MMFF Best Picture: "One More Try"

    New Wave Films Category:
    Best Full-length Feature: "The Grave Bandits"
    Most Gender-Sensitive Film Award: "In Nomine Matris"
    Best Director: Tyrone Ancierto ("The Great Bandits")
    Best Actress: Liza Dino ("In Nomine Matris")
    Best Actor: Allan Paule for ("Gayak")
    Special Jury Prize: Quantum Films

    Student Short Films Category:
    Best Short Film: "Pukpok"
    Special Jury Prize: Daniel Bautista of USC

    Other Awards:
    Male Star of the Night: Joseph Estrada
    Female Star of the Night: Nora Aunor

    MMDA started the program at 5 pm with delayed telecast on TV5, Philippines third-largest television network. Kris Aquino and KC Concepcion, ABS-CBN artists hosted the awards night.

    On the other hand, Star Cinema once again dominates and reign supreme on box office for Comedy movie 'Sisterakas' and good turn-outs for romance drama film 'One More Try'.

    "The Wenn V. Deramas-directed film "Sisterakas" continues to rank first in the list of the highest-earning film entries to the yearly film festival, two days since all eight participating movies opened Christmas Day in theaters nationwide.', ABS-CBN news said.

    According to MMDA, the comedy film earned P71.2 million for two days of nationwide screening with widened lead over the earnings of "Si Agimat" with P47.4 million.

    The Ruel Bayani-directed film, which is also a Star Cinema entry, has grossed P24.3 million in Metro Manila as well as provincial theaters as of Wednesday.

    "Sisterakas" has a first-day earnings of P39.2 million ahead of P10 million earnings from "Si Agimat".

    The mainstream for the 38th Metro Manila Film Festival are the following: 'The Strangers' from Quantum Films, 'El Presidente' from Scenema Concept Int. Inc., 'Thy Womb' from Center Stage Productions and Solar Entertainment, 'Sisterakas' from Star Cinema and Viva Films, 'One More Try' from Star Cinema, 'Si Agimat, Si Enteng at si Ako' from Imus Productions and GMA Films, 'Sosy Problems' from GMA Films and 'Shake Rattle and Roll 14' from Regal Entertainment Inc.

    Comment Section

    Other Stories

    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad