Gilas Pilipinas names 'Final 12' for FIBA World Cup 2023

MANILA, Philippines – Gilas Pilipinas has finally announced its final lineup for the 2023 FIBA World Cup.

NBA player Jordan Clarkson bannered the squad who will compete in front on the home crowd on August 25.

NBA’s Utah Jazz star Jordan Clarkson and the Philippine team are set to start defending its homecourt, beginning with Dominican Republic, on August 25 at the Philippine Arena in Bulacan. Photo Credit: SBP

Joining the Utah Jazz star are Kai Sotto, Dwight Ramos, Scottie Thompson, June Mar Fajardo, Jamie Malonzo, Japeth Aguilar, Rhenz Abando, RR Pogoy, AJ Edu, CJ Perez, and Kiefer Ravena, as confirmed by Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas president Al Panlilio confirmed on Wednesday.

Gilas Pilipinas names 'Final 12' for FIBA World Cup 2023

Already cut from the final lineup are Ray-Ray Parks and Thirdy Ravena, who did not see action in Gilas' three closed-door tune-up games against Ivory Coast, Montenegro and Mexico, and Calvin Oftana, who was absent in Gilas' Tuesday practice.

The 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup will be hosted by multiple nations for the first time in its history—the Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia—from August 25 to September 10, 2023.

FIBA World Cup was last held in the country in 1978.

As one of the host countries, the Philippines secured their spot at the 2023 edition of the quadrennial tournament with a 2-2 record in the qualifiers.

The national squad will try to improve on their 2019 finish after they failed to make it out of the initial phase of the competition.

The Philippines will start the tournament in Group A along with Italy, Angola and the Dominican Republic.

Gilas Pilipinas' first game against Dominican Republic will be held at the Philippine Arena in Bocaue, Bulacan this Friday.

— The Summit Express

Add a comment here (0)
Previous Post Next Post