LIST: This is how the 84 congressmen voted on ABS-CBN franchise renewal

    MANILA, Philippines – The House of Representatives legislative franchises committee on Friday, July 10, denied the 25-year franchise application of ABS-CBN, permanently shutting down the major part of the country's biggest media network.

    how the 84 congressmen voted on ABS-CBN franchise renewal

    Of the 84 panel members and ex-officio members present on the judgement day, 70 lawmakers or 83% voted 'Yes' to deny the franchise application of ABS-CBN as recommended by the technical working group (TWG).

    Meanwhile, only 11 congressmen or 13% voted 'No' against the TWG recommendation.

    Two solons inhibited from voting and only one abstained.

    RESULTS COUNT Percentage
    YES 70 83%
    NO 11 13%
    INHIBIT 2 2%
    ABSTAIN 1 1%
    TOTAL 84

    Former actor Rep. Alfred Vargas of Quezon City cited "conflict of interest" as he inhibited himself from voting.

    SEE ALSO: Roque on House denial of ABS-CBN franchise: Palace maintained neutral stance

    Here's a list of how the panel members voted on ABS-CBN franchise:

    1 Abante, Bienvenido Jr. M. Manila, 6th District NO
    2 Aragones, Sol Laguna, 3rd District NO
    3 Bolilia, Lianda B. Batangas, 4th District NO
    4 Bordado, Gabriel Jr. H. Camarines Sur, 3rd District NO
    5 De Venecia, Christopher V.P. Pangasinan, 4th District NO
    6 Hataman, Mujiv S. Basilan, Lone District NO
    7 Maceda, Edward Vera   Perez Manila, 4th District NO
    8 Quimbo, Stella Luz A. Marikina City, 2nd District NO
    9 Santos-Recto, Vilma Batangas, 6th District NO
    10 Tejada, Jose "Ping-Ping" I. North Cotabato, 3rd District NO
    11 Zarate, Carlos Isagani T. Party List - BAYAN   MUNA NO
    12 Abu, Raneo "Ranie" E. Batangas, 2nd District YES
    13 Abueg-Zaldivar, Cyrille "Beng" F. Palawan, 2nd District YES
    14 Acosta, Gil "Kabarangay Jr." A. Palawan, 3rd District YES
    15 Albano, Antonio "Tonypet" T. Isabela, 1st District YES
    16 Alfonso, Samantha Louise Vargas Cagayan, 2nd District YES
    17 Arroyo, Juan Miguel Macapagal Pampanga, 2nd District YES
    18 Bagatsing, Cristal L. Manila, 5th District YES
    19 Baronda, Julienne "Jam" L. Iloilo City, Lone District YES
    20 Barzaga, Elpidio Jr. F. Cavite, 4th District YES
    21 Bautista, Claudine Diana D. Party List - DUMPER PTDA YES
    22 Bondoc, Juan Pablo "Rimpy" P. Pampanga, 4th District YES
    23 Castelo, Precious Hipolito Quezon City, 2nd District YES
    24 Chipeco, Joaquin Jr. M. Calamba City, Lone District YES
    25 Collantes, Ma.Theresa V. Batangas, 3rd District YES
    26 Crisologo, Anthony Peter "Onyx" D. Quezon City, 1st District YES
    27 Duterte, Paolo Z. Davao City, 1st District YES
    28 Dy, Faustino Michael Carlos III T. Isabela, 5th District YES
    29 Dy, Faustino V "Inno" A. Isabela, 6th District YES
    30 Dy, Ian Paul L. Isabela, 3rd District YES
    31 Estrella, Conrado III M. Party List - ABONO YES
    32 Fariñas, Ria Christina G. Ilocos Norte, 1st District YES
    33 Fernandez, Dan S. Laguna, 1st District YES
    34 Fernando, Bayani F. Marikina City, 1st   District YES
    35 Ferrer, Luis IV   "Jon-Jon" A. Cavite, 6th District YES
    36 Garcia, Pablo John F. Cebu, 3rd District YES
    37 Garin, Janette L. Iloilo, 1st District YES
    38 Garin, Sharon S. Party List - AAMBIS-OWA YES
    39 Gatchalian, Weslie Valenzuela City, 1st District YES
    40 Gonzales, Aurelio Jr. "Dong" D. (Allan Ty) Pampanga, 3rd District YES
    41 Gullas, Eduardo "Eddie" R. Cebu, 1st District YES
    42 Hernandez, Ferdinand   L. (J. F. Nograles) South Cotabato, 2nd   District YES
    43 Herrera-Dy,   Bernadette "BH" Party List - BH YES
    44 Hofer, Ann K. Zamboanga Sibugay, 2nd District YES
    45 Lacson-Noel, Josephine Veronique R. (A. Calixto) Malabon City, Lone District YES
    46 Madrona, Eleandro Jesus F. Romblon, Lone District YES
    47 Malapitan, Dale "Along" R. Caloocan City, 1st District YES
    48 Mangudadatu, Esmael G. Maguindanao, 2nd District YES
    49 Marcoleta, Rodante D. Party List - SAGIP YES
    50 Martinez, Eric M. Valenzuela City, 2nd District YES
    51 Mendoza, Raymond Democrito C. Party List - TUCP YES
    52 Nieto, John Marvin "Yul Servo" C. Manila, 3rd District YES
    53 Nograles, Jericho Jonas B. Party List - PBA YES
    54 Oaminal, Henry S. Misamis Occidental,   2nd District YES
    55 Paduano, Joseph   Stephen "Caraps" S. Party List - ABANG LINGKOD YES
    56 Palma, Wilter "Sharky" II Wee Zamboanga Sibugay, 1st District YES
    57 Pichay, Prospero Jr. A. (Gonzales, Sandro ) Surigao del Sur, 1st   District YES
    58 Pimentel, Johnny Ty   (F. Matugas) Surigao del Sur, 2nd District YES
    59 Pineda, Enrico A. Party List - 1-PACMAN YES
    60 Puno, Roberto V. (Mike Defensor) Antipolo City, 1st District YES
    61 Remulla, Jesus Crispin C. Cavite, 7th District YES
    62 Revilla, Strike B. Cavite, 2nd District YES
    63 Romero, Michael L., Ph.D. (F. Datol) Party List - 1-PACMAN YES
    64 Romualdez, Ferdinand Martin G. Leyte, 1st District YES
    65 Romualdez, Yedda Marie K. Party List - TINGOG SINIRANGAN YES
    66 Romualdo, Xavier Jesus D. Camiguin, Lone District YES
    67 Savellano, Deogracias Victor "DV" B. Ilocos Sur, 1st District YES
    68 Siao, Frederick W. Iligan City, Lone District YES
    69 Singson, Jose Jr. "Bonito" C. Party List - PROBINSYANO AKO YES
    70 Sy-Alvarado, "Kuya" Jose Antonio R. Bulacan, 1st District YES
    71 Tan, Sharee Ann T. Samar, 2nd District YES
    72 Teves, Arnolfo Jr. "Arnie" A. Negros Oriental, 3rd District YES
    73 Tolentino, Abraham "Bambol" N. Cavite, 8th District YES
    74 Unabia, Christian S. Misamis Oriental, 1st District YES
    75 Valeriano, Rolando M. Manila, 2nd District YES
    76 Villafuerte, Luis   Raymund Jr. "LRay" F. Camarines Sur, 2nd District YES
    77 Villar, Camille A. Las Piñas City, Lone District YES
    78 Yap, Eric Go Party List - ACT-CIS YES
    79 Yu, Divina Grace C. Zamboanga del Sur, 1st District YES
    80 Mercado, Roger G. Southern Leyte, Lone District YES
    81 Tan, Alyssa Sheena P. Isabela, 4th District YES
    82 Vargas, Alfred D. Quezon City, 5th District INHIBITED
    83 Violago, Micaela S. Nueva Ecija, 2nd District INHIBITED
    84 Garbin, Alfredo Jr. A. Party List - AKO BICOL ABSTAINED

    SEE ALSOPOLL RESULTS: 92-percent believe ABS-CBN deserves fresh franchise

    The vote puts in jeopardy the jobs of more than 11,000 workers under the ABS-CBN group of companies. Due to failure to secure a franchise, the company earlier said they might start retrenching employees by August.

    On May 5, the National Telecommunications Commission (NTC) issued cease and desist order following the expiration of ABS-CBN Corp. franchise.

    The CDO covers 42 television stations operated by ABS-CBN across the country, including the main ABS-CBN Network, ABS-CBN Sports and Action, ten digital broadcast channels, 18 FM stations, and five AM stations.

    On June 13, cable-and-satellite channel named Kapamilya Channel was launched resuming the productions of ABS-CBN's dramas and live entertainment shows and airing its entertainment, educational and current affairs programming, along with temporary movie blocks.

    On June 30, the NTC and Solicitor General Jose Calida issued an alias CDO to stop operations of ABS-CBN TV Plus for its digital free-to-air channels on UHF Channel 43 in Metro Manila and some provinces. The agency also issued CDO against Direct Broadcast Satellite Service of ABS-CBN's affiliate Sky Cable Corporation.

    The last time ABS-CBN was shutdown by the government was in 1972 under the late dictator Ferdinand Marcos.

    — The Summit Express
    Comment Section

    No comments

    Other Stories

    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad