Ginebra wins 2019 PBA Governors’ Cup title

MANILA, Philippines – Barangay Ginebra regained the throne after winning against Meralco Bolts, 105-93, in Game Five of the 2019 PBA Governors' Cup Finals on Friday, January 17 at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City.

Barangay Ginebra is your PBA Governors’ Cup champion
Barangay Ginebra is your PBA Governors’ Cup champion for the third time in four seasons! Photo Credit:

It is Ginebra's third Governors' Cup title in four years and 12th overall in franchise history.

Japeth Aguilar, who scored 25 points and 8 rebounds, won the Honda PBA Press Corps Finals MVP award. He averaged 17.4 points, 7.0 rebounds, and 3.4 blocks for his first Finals MVP citation in his career.

Ginebra overcame 14-point deficit in the second quarter with their strong will to win the title. They grabbed the driver's seat in the third frame after some adjustments.

Meanwhile, Justin Brownlee tallied 24 points, 10 assists and 7 rebounds. Stanley Pringle gave 17 points in his first PBA championship.

In Meralco side, import Allen Durham contributed 29 points and 21 rebounds.

The scores:

Ginebra 105 - Aguilar 25, Brownlee 24, Pringle 17, Thompson 14, Tenorio 12, Mariano 6, Devance 3, Dela Cruz 2, Slaughter 2, Dillinger 0.

Meralco 93 - Durham 29, Amer 17, Newsome 13, Hodge 10, Quinto 9, Maliksi 9, Faundo 2, Pinto 2, Caram 2, Salva 0.

Quarterscores: 19-26, 40-46, 70-64, 105-93

— The Summit Express

Add a comment here (0)
Previous Post Next Post