Opening of classes for SY 2019-2020 will be on June 3

MANILA, Philippines – The Department of Education (DepEd) announced that the opening day of all public schools nationwide for School Year (SY) 2019-2020 will be on June 3, 2019.

Opening of classes for SY 2019-2020 will be on June 3
DepEd Secretary Leonor Briones.

This is in pursuant to Republic Act No. 7797 or “An Act to Lengthen the School Calendar from Two Hundred (200) days to not more than Two Hundred Twenty (220) Class Days.”

Private schools may deviate from DepEd's schedule but it must be following RA 7797, Section 3 (Start of the School Year) that states, “The school year shall start on the first Monday of June but not later than the last day of August.” Private schools must notify in advance their respective regional offices (ROs) regarding any deviation from DepEd's school calendar.

DepEd Undersecretary for Planning and Field Operations Jesus L. R. Mateo also confirmed the announcement.

DepEd also announced that the annual national Oplan Balik Eskwela (OBE) will be from May 27 to June 7, 2019, as per the memorandum ordered by Education Secretary Leonor Briones.

SEE ALSO: DepEd releases school calendar for SY 2019-2020

Briones explained in the memo signed March 13, 2019, the OBE is the education department's yearly initiative to “engage agencies, organizations, and all other stakeholders in preparation for the opening of the school year. The OBE is part of the Department’s efforts to ensure that learners are already properly enrolled and able to attend school on the first day of classes.”

— Sally, The Summit Express

Previous Post Next Post