PRC increases required CPD units for CPAs (2017-2019)

MANILA, Philippines - The Professional Regulation Commission (PRC) and the Regulatory Board of Accountancy officially announced on Monday, January 23, the increase of the required Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Units for all certified public accountants (CPAs).

PRC increases required CPD units for CPAs (2017-2019)

From 60 CPD units, CPAs will need to get 120 units within compliance period of three years, which shall be implemented in phases as follows:

Year of Renewal Required number
of CPD Units
2016 60
2017 80
2018 100
2019 120

According to the Board of Accountancy, resolution No. 358 series of 2016 covers all CPAs in public practice, academe, commerce, industry and government.

How to earn CPD units for PRC license renewal (All Professions)

Thematic Areas of CPD activities have been changed also to Competence Areas in order to align with the International Education Standards.

Areas have been divided into 3 major categories namely: Technical Competence, Professional Skills and Professional Values, Ethics and Attitudes.

Section 10, Article III of Republic Act No. 10912 or CPD Act of 2016, stated that compliance with the CPD is a mandatory requirement in the renewal of professional identification card or license.

Here's the full copy of Resolution No. 358 Series of 2016 of the Professional Regulatory Board of Accountancy:

Previous Post Next Post