Pacquiao, 5 other newbies enter senatorial 'Magic 12' - April 2016 SWS Survey

MANILA, Philippines - Re-electionists and returning senators topped the first quarter SWS survey for the 2016 elections, but 6 first-time senatorial aspirants – including the boxing icon and Sarangani Representative Manny Pacquiao – have made it to the Magic 12.

Manny Pacquiao and Leila de Lima
Boxing icon Manny Pacquiao and resigned Justice Secretary Leila de Lima in senatorial race Magic 12.
The April 2016 Social Weather Survey was conducted from March 30-April 2, 2016 using face-to-face interviews of 1,500 adults (18 years old and above) nationwide, 300 each in Metro Manila, North Luzon, South Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.

Of the 1,500 sample adults, 1,377 or 92% are validated voters, 268 in Metro Manila, 278 in North Luzon, 272 in South Luzon, 280 in Visayas and 279 in Mindanao (sampling error margins of ±3% for national percentages, and ±6% each for Metro Manila, North Luzon, South Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao).

Respondents were asked: “Kung ang eleksyon ay gaganapin ngayon, sino ang pinakamalamang ninyong iboboto bilang MGA SENADOR ng PILIPINAS?"

[If the elections were held today, whom would you most probably vote for as SENATORS of the PHILIPPINES?]

Twelve senators will be finishing their terms in 2016, thus the number of slots available.

Respondents were given the list of candidates in alphabetical order, and included nicknames, as practiced by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) on election day. Names of candidates are as officially registered with the COMELEC.

Due to statistical ties between some candidates, 14 names emerged as likely to make it to the so-called Magic 12 if the senatorial elections were held today.

Liberal Party (LP) and re-electionist Frank Drilon topped the senatorial race as he obtained 45% of votes followed by Nationalist People's Coalition (NPC) candidate Vicente Sotto with 42%. On 3rd to 4th place were returning candidates LP's Kiko Pangilinan and independent (IND) senatoriable Panfilo Lacson, each with 37%.

Senator Franklin Drilon tops latest SWS survey for senatorial positions.
Senator Franklin Drilon tops latest SWS survey for senatorial positions. Photo Credit: Facebook/Frank Drilon
People's Champ Manny Pacquiao ( United Nationalist Alliance) and resigned Justice Secretary Leila de Lima (LP), ranked 5-7, got the highest votes among newbie senatorial aspirants who are likely to win if elections were held at the time of the survey.

RELATED STORY: Duterte leads latest SWS survey

The other first-time "senatoriables" are 12. Joel "Tesdaman" Villanueva (LP) 28%, 13. Win Gatchalian (NPC) 25%, 14. Francis Tolentino (IND) 24%, and 15. Martin Romualdez (LAKAS) 22%.

Other candidates on the Top 12 list are: Migz Zubiri (IND) on 5-7 slot, Risa Hontiveros (AKBYN), Sergio Osmeña III (IND), Ralph Recto (LP), and Dick Gordon (IND), each with 30% for 8-11 place.

With intended votes of at least 7 points below the 12th place are 16-17. Mark Lapid (AKSYON) and TG Guingona (LP), each with 21%, 18-19. Isko Moreno Domagoso (PMP) and Edu Manzano (IND), each with 16%, and 20. Carlos Jericho Petilla (LP) 10%.

senatorial race magic 12

Obtaining single-digit scores are Allan Montano (UNA) 7%, Neri Colmenares (MKBYN) 7%, Alma Moreno Lacsamana (UNA) 7%, Mel Chavez (WPPPMM) 6%, Rey Langit (UNA) 6%, Susan Ople (NP) 6%, Dionisio Santiago (IND) 6%, Getulio Napeñas (UNA) 5%, Roman Romulo (IND) 5%, Atty. Lorna Kapunan (AKSYON) 5%, Raffy Alunan (IND) 5%, Larry Gadon (KBL) 5%, Shariff Albani (IND) 4%, Samuel Pagdilao (IND) 4%, Romeo Maganto (LAKAS) 4%, Aldin Ali (WPPPMM) 4%, Jovito Palparan Jr. (IND) 3%, Walden Bello (IND) 3%, Greco Belgica (IND) 3%, Ina Ambolodto (LP) 3%, Princess Jacel Kiram (UNA) 3%, Godofredo Arquiza (IND) 3%, Sandra Cam (PMP) 3%, Mon Montaño (IND) 2%, Dante Liban (IND) 2%, Levito Baligod (IND) 2%, Ray Dorona (IND) 2%, Mr. Coop Paez (IND) 2%, Diosdado Valeroso (IND) 1%, and Eid Kabalu (IND) 1%.

Previous Post Next Post