COMPLETE LIST: Winners, MMFF 2015 awards night

MANILA, Philippines - The 41st Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) organizers announced the complete list of winners and awardees for the 2015 film competition in the awards night held on Sunday, December 27 at the Kia Theatre, Araneta Center in Quezon City.

Winners, MMFF 2015 awards night

Eight (8) official entries have competed for the 2015 MMFF major award categories. 'Walang Forever' won six awards including Best Picture, Best Actress for Jennylyn Mercado and Best Actor for Jericho Rosales.

'Honor Thy Father' and 'Nilalang' also won big with 5 awards each.

READ: Netizens express mixed reactions on MMFF 2015 Awards results, scandals

Despite winning the Best Festival Director, Erik Matti did not attend the awards night. 'Honor Thy Father' was disqualified by the MMFF committe for the Best Picture category due to non-disclosure of the film's participation in the Cinema One Originals festival.

Maine Mendoza wins Best Supporting Actres at MMFF 2015

Entries to MMFF 2015 also include 'Beauty and the Bestie,' 'My Bebe Love: #KiligPaMore,' 'All You Need Is Pag-Ibig,' 'Haunted Mansion,' 'Buy Now, Die Later.'

8 Entries to MMFF 2015

This year's MMFF also includes 5 full-length entries under New Wave category. This includes 'Ari: My Life with a King,' 'Mandirigma,'Tandem,' 'Toto,' and 'Turo Turo.' Finalists were shown from December 17-24 at Glorietta 4, SM Megamall, and Robinsons Movieworld Cinemas.

Here is the complete list of winners for the 2015 MMFF (updated):

Major Awards
  • Best Picture: Walang Forever
  • Second Best Picture: Buy Now, Die Later
  • Third Best Picture: My Bebe Love
  • Best Actress: Jennylyn Mercado (Walang Forever)
  • Best Actor: Jericho Rosales (Walang Forever)
  • Best Director: Erik Matti (Honor Thy Father)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Maine Mendoza (My Bebe Love)
  • Best Supporting Actor: Tirso Cruz III (Honor Thy Father )
  • Best Child Performer: Krystal Brimner (Honor Thy Father )
  • Best Screenplay: Walang Forever
  • Best Original Story: Walang Forever
  • Best Editing: Nilalang
  • Best Cinematography: Nilalang
  • Best Production Design: Buy Now, Die Later
  • Best Visual Effects: Nilalang
  • Best Sound Engineer: Ditoy Aguila (Nilalang)
  • Best Musical Score: Jessy Lazatin (Nilalang)
  • Best Theme Song: Honor Thy Father
  • Best Festival Make-up Artist: Ryan and Ericka (Honor Thy Father)

Special Awards
  • Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: My Bebe Love
  • FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence: Walang Forever (plus P400,000 cash)
  • Male Celebrity of the Night: Cesar Montano
  • Female Celebrity of the Night: Jennylyn Mercado
  • Best Float Award: Buy Now, Die Later
  • Plaque of Appreciation: Francis Tolentino

41st MMFF New Wave Awards Night Winners

Full Feature Category
  • Best Picture: Ari: My Life with a King
  • Special Jury Prize: Toto
  • Best Director: John Paul Su (Toto)
  • Best Actor: JM De Guzman (Tandem) and Francisco Quinto (Ari: My Life with a King)
  • Best Supporting Actor: Thou Reyes (Toto)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Bibeth Orteza (Toto)
  • Best Screenplay: Robert Tantico (Ari: My Life With a King)
  • Manila Bulletin Best Feature Film: Ari: My Life With a King

Animation Category
  • Best Picture: Buttons (Marvel Obemio, Francis Ramirez & Jared Garcia)
  • Special Jury Prize: Little Lights (Rivelle Mallari)
  • Manila Bulletin Best Animation Film: Geo (John Aurthur Mercader)

Student Short Film Category
  • Best Picture: Mumu (Jean Cheryl Tagyamon)
  • Special Jury Prize: Daisy (Brian Reyes)
  • Manila Bulletin Best Short Film: Momento (Jan-Kyle Nieva)

The mainstream festival has kicked-off on Friday, December 25, 2015 and will have ongoing nationwide screening until January 7, 2016. During the festival, no foreign films are shown in Philippine cinemas in order to showcase locally produced films.

MMFF Ranking 2015: MMDA announces Top 4 Films, First Day Total Gross

By virtue of Metro Manila Commission Executive Order No. 86-09, pursuant to Presidential Proclamation Nos. 1459, 1485, 1533, 1533-A and 1647, the MMFF is held during the Christmas Season in recognition of the role of the film industry in providing artistic depictions of both this country's stories and history.

2015 is the first festival under the current organizing committee and MMDA chairman Emerson Carlos, after his predecessor Francis Tolentino resigned from his post in October 2015, to run for the Philippine Senate in the 2016 elections.

KC Concepcion and Richard Gutierrez host 2015 MMFF
KC Concepcion and Richard Gutierrez host 2015 MMFF. Photo Credit: @vyenskie211
The MMFF Awards Night (Gabi ng Parangal ) 2015 hosted by Richard Gutierrez and KC Concepcion was aired via delayed telecast at 9:00 p.m. Saturday on TV5 thru a co-production with Viva Entertainment. -

MMFF 2015 Update: 'My Bebe Love,' 'Beauty and the Bestie' lead box-office race (Day 3)

Previous Post Next Post