BSP's 3 new limited edition commemorative coins now available

MANILA, Philippines - The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) announced that three new limited edition commemorative coins are available starting today, Monday, December 22, 2014.

BSP's 3 new limited edition commemorative coins

The new coins commemorate the following:

1. The Bagong Bayani Commemorative Coin in honor of Overseas Filipinos on the 5-piso circulating coin;
2. The 150th year of Philippine Hero Apolinario Mabini on the 10-piso circulating coin; and
3. The Leyte Landing which was a turning point for the liberation of the Philippines during World War II on the 5-piso circulating coin

The public can avail of these coins at the cash departments of BSP offices in Manila and Quezon City, managing director of currency management sub-sector Iluminada Sicat said in the press briefing on Friday.

"There will be 10 million pieces available for sale and there will be 20,000 in brilliant, uncirculated pack," she said, noting the coins will be sold at face value.

We'll try to make them available also to banks so that the banks could help us in distributing the coins," she added.

"As a matter of policy, the BSP commemorates significant events and heroic Filipinos in our country’s history through the minting of coins, medals or overprints on our banknotes," BSP said in a statement.

The most recent commemorative circulation coins issued by the BSP were for the 150th year of National Hero Dr. Jose Rizal in 2011 and the 150th year of Philippine Hero Andres Bonifacio in 2013.

The BSP also announced the minting by the BSP of 50-piso and 500-piso commemorative coins in time for the Papal visit in January 2015.

Previous Post Next Post