VIDEO: Why PAGASA censors 'Kanor' from typhoon names?

MANILA - The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) has censored "Kanor" from the official list of typhoon names.

LPA spotted at Baler, Aurora; to be called 'Karding' once become a tropical cyclone
LPA spotted at Baler, Aurora; to be called 'Karding' once become a tropical cyclone

State weather bureau PAGASA on Tuesday released a revised list of names for tropical cyclones in the Philippine Area of Responsibility (PAR), with "Kanor" replaced by "Karding."

PAGASA on Facebook posted a notice that the next cyclone will be called "Karding." Kanor was previously in the list of cyclone names for 2014 as of January this year, replacing Katring.

PAGASA said it removed "Kanor" because of alleged negative feedback from the public, citing a scandalous video linked to the name. The government agency said typhoon names should be based on Philippine culture.

WATCH: Why PAGASA censors 'Kanor' from cyclone names?  (video courtesy of ABS-CBN News)

As of Tuesday, PAGASA's official list of typhoon names for 2014 list now includes:
  • Agaton
  • Basyang
  • Caloy
  • Domeng
  • Ester
  • Florita
  • Glenda
  • Henry
  • Inday
  • Jose
  • Karding
  • Luis
  • Mario
  • Neneng
  • Ompong
  • Paeng
  • Queenie
  • Ruby
  • Seniang
  • Tomas
  • Usman
  • Venus
  • Waldo
  • Yayang
  • Zeny

PAGASA also has an auxiliary list of names if the number of tropical cyclones exceeds 25 this year:
  • Agila
  • Bagwis
  • Chito
  • Diego
  • Elena
  • Felino
  • Gunding
  • Harriet
  • Indang
  • Jessa

An average of 19 tropical cyclones enter the PAR annually. The list above will be used again in 2018 and 2022.

Previous Post Next Post