San Mig Coffee takes home the gold, gives Tim Cone his 16th title

    Manila, Philippines - When the smoke cleared, the San Mig Coffee Mixers emerged the victors as they are crowned the 2014 PLDT Home DSL PBA Philippine Cup Champion after eking out a 93-87 win over the Rain or Shine Elasto Painters on Wednesday, February 26 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

    San Mig Coffee Mixers Takes Home The Gold, Gives Tim Cone His 16th Title
    The San Mig Coffee Mixers celebrate its 93-87 Finals victory over Rain or Shine.

    After falling 80-83 in Game 1, the Mixers won the next 3 games including an exciting 77-76 win in Game 3. On the verge of losing the Finals, the Elasto Painters roared back in Game 5 only to have a crushing defeat in the title-clinching game.

    Former FEU Tamaraw Mark Barroca came up big as he poured in 24 points along with 5 assists and 2 steals. He was named the PBA Press Corps Papa John’s Pizza Finals MVP. He got ample support from Ian Sangalang, who chipped in 15 points and from Marc Pingris, who came up with a double-double as he recorded 12 points and 11 boards.

    Mark Barroca, who led all scorers with 24 points, is named Finals MVP
    Mark Barroca, who led all scorers with 24 points, is named Finals MVP after a sterling performance in the title-clinching Game 6. (Source: Interaksyon)

    Game 6 is one of the most controversial in the history of the PBA as the Elasto Painters staged a walkout in the second canto, which stopped the game for about 10 minutes, only to return and put up one big fight against San Mig Coffee.

    Rain or Shine players stage a walkout in the 2nd quarter.
    Rain or Shine players stage a walkout in the 2nd quarter. (Source: Rappler)

    Despite a big game from Paul Lee and Beau Belga who scored 23 and 21 points, respectively, Rain or Shine was not able to force a do-or-die game as San Mig Coffee helped Tim Cone achieve a historic feat.

    With this championship, Tim Cone finally breaks the tie with legendary coach Baby Dalupan for the most number of PBA championships.

    Cone, who also won a rare Grand Slam back in 1996 with Alaska, was quick to downplay his personal achievement, saying that nobody could surpass Dalupan, who won 15 championships in the PBA and a total of 41 championships in the MICAA, PBA, UAAP, and NCAA.

    The PBA Commissioner’s Cup will kick off on March 5 at the Mall of Asia Arena with the Air 21 Express battling the Global Port Batang Pier followed by Alaska Aces fighting against Talk n Text Tropang Texters.

    Post Top Ad


    Post Bottom Ad