President Aquino declares 18 holidays for 2014

Manila, Philippines - President Benigno Aquino III thru proclamation no. 655 declares on Monday, September 30, 2013 at least 18 non-working holidays for 2014. The list includes 10 regular holidays, 7 special (non-working days) and 1 special holiday (for all schools).

President Aquino declares 18 holidays 2014

Republic Act (RA) No. 9492 provides that holidays except those which are religious in nature, are moved to the nearest Monday unless otherwise modified by law, order or proclamation. Meanwhile, RA No. 9849 provides that the Eidul Adha shall be celebrated as a national holiday.

The proclamation states that the EDSA People Power Revolution, which restored and ushered political, social and economic reforms in the country, serves as an inspiration to Filipinos everywhere as a nation and as a people.

On January 31, 2014, the Chinese nationals all over the world will celebrate Spring Festival, popularly known as the Chinese New Year, which is one of the most revered and festive events celebrated not only in China but also in the Philippines by both Chinese-Filipinos and ordinary Filipinos as well; and the joint celebration is a manifestation of our solidarity with our Chinese-Filipino brethren who have been part of our lives in many respects as a country and as a people; 31 January 2014 may be declared as a special (non-working) day without detriment to public interest.

April 19, 2014 falls between Good Friday and Easter Sunday; Black Saturday, falling between Good Friday and Easter Sunday, has been traditionally declared a special (non-working) day throughout the country because the observance of Holy Week is one of our people’s most cherished traditions and they must be given the full and uninterrupted opportunity to ponder the significance of Holy Week and to properly observe its traditions with religious fervor, without prejudice to public interest.

Palace also declares December 24 and 26, 2014 as additional special (non-working) days throughout the country to enable meaningful Christmas for our countrymen.

The following regular holidays and special days for the year 2014 shall be observed in the country:

A. Regular Holidays
New Year’s Day-1January (Wednesday)
Araw ng Kagitingan-9April (Wednesday)
Maundy Thursday-17April
Good Friday-18April
Labor Day-1May (Thursday)
Independence Day-12June (Thursday)
National Heroes Day-25August (Last Monday of August)
Bonifacio Day-30November (Sunday)
Christmas Day-25December (Thursday)
Rizal Day-30December (Tuesday)
B. Special (Non-Working) Days
Chinese New Year-31January (Friday)
Black Saturday-19April
Ninoy Aquino Day-21August (Thursday)
All Saints Day-1November (Saturday)
Additional special (non-working) days-24December (Wednesday)
 -26December (Friday)
Last Day of the Year-31December (Wednesday)
C. Special Holiday (for all schools)
EDSA Revolution Anniversary-25February (Tuesday)

The proclamations declaring national holidays for the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha shall hereafter be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient. To this end, the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (NCMF) shall inform the Office of the President on which days the holidays shall respectively fall.

Palace said that the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) shall promulgate the implementing guidelines for this Proclamation.

Previous Post Next Post