LIST: Regular, Special Holidays in the Philippines 2018


ADVERTISEMENT


MANILA, Philippines - Already itching to book those flights and plan your vacations for 2018? Fret no more as the Malacañang Palace has released its official list of red letter days for 2018 on Wednesday, July 19.

LIST: Regular, Special Holidays in the Philippines 2018

President Rodrigo Duterte recently signed Proclamation No. 269, which declares 18 regular and non-working holidays in 2018.

“Now, therefore, I Rodrigo Roa Duterte by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution as the President of the Philippines, do hereby declare the following regular holidays and special days for the year 2018 shall be observed in the country,” Duterte wrote in the proclamation.

Here's the full list of holidays and observances in the Philippines next year:

Regular holidays

  • January 1, 2018 (Monday) – New Year's Day
  • March 29, 2018 – Maundy Thursday
  • March 30, 2018 – Good Friday
  • April 9, 2018 (Monday) – Araw ng Kagitingan
  • May 1, 2018 (Tuesday) – Labor Day
  • June 12, 2018 (Tuesday) – Independence Day
  • August 27, 2018, (Monday) – National Heroes' Day
  • November 30, 2018 (Friday) – Bonifacio Day
  • December 25, 2018 (Tuesday) – Christmas Day
  • December 30, 2018 (Sunday) – Rizal Day

Special (non-working) days:

  • February 16, 2018 (Friday) – Chinese New Year
  • February 25, 2018 (Sunday) – EDSA Revolution Anniversary
  • March 31, 2018 – Black Saturday
  • August 21, 2018 (Tuesday) – Ninoy Aquino Day
  • November 1, 2018 (Thursday) – All Saints' Day
  • December 31, 2018 (Monday) – last day of the year

Additional special (non-working) holidays:

  • November 2, 2018 (Friday) - observance of All Saint’s Day
  • December 24, 2018 (Monday) - Christmas

NOTE: List of long weekends in 2018 will be posted here later.

A total of two additional non-working days were added in the list to give more time to observe All Saint’s Day as well as Christmas Day. These holidays also aim to promote domestic tourism.

Meanwhile, the proclamation for the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eid’l Adha will be done after the dates of the Islamic holidays are issued in accordance with the Islamic calendar.

Based on labor laws, employees who work on holidays will be paid more than overtime rate on regular days. On top of their regular hourly rate, they will receive an additional 25% of their regular hourly rate.

On the other hand, employees who work on regular holidays will receive at least 200% of the sum of their daily rate and cost of living allowance.

Those who work on special non-working days will receive at least 130% of the sum their daily rate and cost of living allowance.

Duterte has ordered the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) to publicize the implementing guidelines for the proclamation.


-- Mini, The Summit Express

Don't miss our regular updates and awesome stories, Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter or subscribe via E-mail.


ADVERTISEMENT