'Bagyong Aghon' PAGASA weather update May 26, 2024

MANILA, Philippines – 'Bagyong Aghon' (international name: Ewiniar) intensified into severe tropical storm, state weather bureau PAGASA announced in its 5:00 pm bulletin on Sunday, May 26, 2024.

'Bagyong Aghon' PAGASA weather update May 26, 2024
Satellite image of 'Bagyong Aghon' as of May 26, 2024 4:50 pm. Photo courtesy of PAGASA

At 4:00 pm today, the center of Severe Tropical Storm 'Aghon' was estimated based on all available data including those from Tagaytay and Daet Doppler Weather Radars over the coastal waters of Mauban, Quezon.

'Bagyong Aghon' has maximum sustained winds of 95 km/h near the center, gustiness of up to 130 km/h, and central pressure of 992 hPa. It is moving slowly northeastward. Strong to storm-force winds extend outwards up to 220 km from the center.

'Bagyong Aghon' landfall

  • 1st landfall: Guiuan, Eastern Samar (11:20 p.m. on Friday, May 24)
  • 2nd landfall: Giporlos, Eastern Samar (12:40 a.m. on Saturday, May 25)
  • 3rd landfall: Basiao Island in Catbalogan, Samar ( 4 a.m. on Saturday, May 25)
  • 4th landfall: Cagduyong Island in Catbologan, Samar (5 a.m. on Saturday, May 25)
  • 5th landfall: Batuan, Masbate (10:20 a.m. on Saturday, May 25)
  • 6th landfall: Masbate City (10:45 a.m. on Saturday, May 25)
  • 7th landfall: Torrijos, Marinduque (10:00 p.m. on Saturday, May 25)
  • 8th landfall: Lucena City (4:30 a.m. on Sunday, May 26)


typhoon signal Aghon

TCWS No. 3

  • Wind threat: Storm-force winds
  • Warning lead time: 18 hours
  • Range of wind speeds: 89 to 117 km/h (Beaufort 10 to 11)
  • Potential impacts of winds: Moderate to significant threat to life and property


  • the eastern section of Quezon (Infanta, Real, Mauban) including Polillo Islands (Panukulan, Burdeos, Patnanungan, and Polillo)

TCWS No. 2

  • Wind threat: Gale-force winds
  • Warning lead time: 24 hours
  • Range of wind speeds: 62 to 88 km/h (Beaufort 8 to 9)
  • Potential impacts of winds: Minor to moderate threat to life and property


  • Aurora
  • the northern and central portions of Quezon (Alabat, Perez, Quezon, Gumaca, Lopez, Macalelon, General Luna, Unisan, Pitogo, Plaridel, Agdangan, Padre Burgos, Atimonan, General Nakar, Sampaloc, Pagbilao, Calauag, Lucban, City of Tayabas, Lucena City, Tiaong, Candelaria, Sariaya, Dolores, San Antonio, Jomalig)
  • Laguna
  • the eastern portion of Batangas (City of Tanauan, San Jose, Lipa City, Mataasnakahoy, Balete, Malvar, Santo Tomas, Cuenca, San Pascual, Batangas City, Ibaan, Padre Garcia, Rosario, San Juan, Taysan, Lobo)
  • the eastern and central portions of Rizal (Jala-Jala, Pililla, Tanay, Cardona, Binangonan, Morong, Baras, Rodriguez, City of Antipolo, Teresa)
  • the northern portion of Camarines Norte (Santa Elena, Capalonga)

TCWS No. 1

  • Wind threat: Strong winds
  • Warning lead time: 36 hours
  • Range of wind speeds: 39 to 61 km/h (Beaufort 6 to 7)
  • Potential impacts of winds: Minimal to minor threat to life and property


  • the eastern portion of Isabela (Divilacan, San Mariano, San Guillermo, Jones, Echague, San Agustin, Ilagan City, Benito Soliven, City of Cauayan, Maconacon, Angadanan, Naguilian, Palanan, Dinapigue)
  • the eastern portion of Quirino (Maddela, Nagtipunan, Aglipay)
  • the southern portion of Nueva Vizcaya (Alfonso Castaneda, Dupax del Sur, Dupax del Norte)
  • the eastern and southern portions of Nueva Ecija (General Tinio, Gabaldon, Bongabon, Pantabangan, Rizal, General Mamerto Natividad, Laur, Palayan City, Peñaranda, San Leonardo, City of Gapan, Cabanatuan City, Santa Rosa, San Isidro, Cabiao, San Antonio, Jaen, Zaragoza, Aliaga, Talavera, Llanera)
  • the southern portion of Bataan (Orani, Samal, City of Balanga, Abucay, Pilar, Orion, Limay, Mariveles, Bagac)
  • the eastern portion of Pampanga (Candaba, San Luis, San Simon, Apalit, Santa Ana, Arayat, Mexico, Santa Rita, Guagua, Sasmuan, Macabebe, Masantol, Santo Tomas, Minalin, City of San Fernando, Bacolor, Lubao)
  • Bulacan
  • Metro Manila
  • the rest of Quezon
  • the rest of Rizal
  • the rest of Batangas
  • the northern and central portions of Oriental Mindoro (Pinamalayan, Pola, Naujan, Victoria, Socorro, City of Calapan, Bansud, Gloria, Baco, San Teodoro, Puerto Galera, Bongabong)
  • Marinduque
  • the extreme northern portion of Romblon (Concepcion, Corcuera, Banton)
  • the rest of Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur



'Aghon' will continue to move northeastward towards Polillo Islands. The possibility of intensifying into a typhoon while over the sea east of Quezon is not ruled out.

From tomorrow through the remainder of the forecast period, 'Aghon' will gradually accelerate northeastward while intensifying. It is forecast to reach Typhoon category by tomorrow afternoon and may exit the Philippine area of responsibility (PAR) region on Wednesday.


'Bagyong Aghon' is the country’s first tropical cyclone for 2024. It entered the PAR on Thursday morning, May 23 as low-pressure area (LPA) located east of Mindanao.

On average, there are 20 tropical cyclones that could form or enter the PAR each year. Only half of those are projected to make landfall.

READ: LIST: PAGASA releases Philippine Typhoon names in 2024

— The Summit Express

Add a comment here (0)
Previous Post Next Post