UP makes historic win in UAAP men’s basketball, dethroning 3-time champion Ateneo

MANILA, Philippines – The University of the Philippines (UP) Fighting Maroons made history as they bagged the championship title at the UAAP Season 84 men’s basketball on Friday, May 13.

Congratulations, UP Fighting Maroons!
Congratulations, UP Fighting Maroons! Photo Credit: Facebook/ The UAAP

The UP Fighting Maroons showed off an impressive performance in their do-or-die game, ending the reign of the three-time champion, Ateneo.

The victory also ended the 36-year title drought of UP in the UAAP.

UP makes historic win in UAAP men’s basketball
Photo Credit: Facebook/ The UAAP

The UP Fighting Maroons won via an overtime decision with a score of 72-69.

Malick Diouf earned the Finals MVP award with 17 points and 9 rebounds while CJ Cansino finished with 14 points.

The UP community and their supporters celebrated their win and the hashtag #UPFight went viral. The Maroon Pride posted on Twitter, “CHAMPIONS! The UP Men's Basketball Team is your #UAAPSeason84 Champions! HISTORY! MABUHAY, MAROONS! #UPFIGHT #MAROONPRIDE.”

In another tweet, they also recognized the efforts Noah Webb at Ricci Rivero. “Salamat at pagpupugay sa inyo, graduating Maroons Noah Webb at Ricci Rivero! Matagumpay ninyong ipinakita ang galing ng isang Fighting Maroon. Isang inspirasyon ang inyong dedikasyon para sa UP! Salamat salamat!”

When the UP Fighting Maroon won last Game 1, it earned a huge celebration as it was their first time to win a finals spot since 1986. UP head coach Goldwin Monteverde said he just keeps on reminding the time to be consistent and not give up.

“That’s how it is, the team had a lot of ups and downs, but we just kept reminding each other not to give up, try to be consistent in the game, and not give up until the end,” first-year UP head coach said after the game.

— Sally, The Summit Express

Add a comment here (0)
Previous Post Next Post