FULL LIST: Winners, MMFF 2021 awards night

MANILA, Philippines – The Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2021 Gabi ng Parangal (Awards Night) was held Monday, December 27 at the Samsung Hall of SM Aura Premier in Bonifacio Global City, Taguig. Below is a full rundown of all the winners.

FULL LIST: Winners, MMFF 2021 awards night

The 47th edition of the annual MMFF marks the festival's return to physical theaters after the pandemic forced its previous edition to go for online streaming since cinemas were closed and not allowed to operate.


Official entries include Dingdong Dantes and John Arcilla's "A Hard Day"; Christian Bables' "Big Night!"; Rita Daniela and Ken Chan's "Huling Ulan sa Tag-Araw" and Kim Chiu, Aiko Melendez and Beauty Gonzalez's "Huwag Kang Lalabas."

Also part of the festival are Charo Santos-Concio, Daniel Padilla and Rans Rifol's "Kun Maupay Man it Panahon"; Kaori Oinuma, Jeremiah Lisbo, Daniela Stranner and Anthony Jennings' "Love at First Stream"; Winwyn Marquez, Raymond Bagatsing and Ali Forbes' "Nelia" and Toni Gonzaga and Alex Gonzaga's "The Exorsis."

Producers and cinema operators are expecting for big winners tonight to bounce back on ticket sales after the eight entries were reported to have a slow start in the box-office.

Here's MMFF 2021 complete list of winners

Major Awards Winners
Best Picture 1st: Big Night!
2nd: Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
3rd: A Hard Day
Best Actress in a Leading Role Charo Santos - Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Best Actor in a Leading Role Christian Bables - Big Night!
Best Director Jun Robles Lana - Big Night!
Best Actress in a Supporting Role Rans Rifol - Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Best Actor in a Supporting Role John Arcilla - Big Night!
Best Screenplay Big Night!
Best Editing Lawrence Fajardo - A Hard Day
Best Cinematography Carlo Canlas Mendoza - Big Night!
Best Production Design Juan Manuel Alcazaren - Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Best Visual Effects Mofac Creative Works - Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Best Sound Albert Michael Idioma - A Hard Day
Best Musical Score Teresa Barrozo - Big Night!
Best Original Theme Song Umulan Man o Umaraw - Huling Ulan sa Tag-Araw

Special Awards Winners
Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Manay Ichu Vera Perez Memorial Award Rosa Rosal
Special Jury Prize Daniel Padilla - Kun Maupay Man It Panahon
Natatanging Gawad MMFF Danilo Lim and Bienvenido Lumbera
Best Float Award Huwag Kang Lalabas
Gender Sensitivity Award Big Night!

Creator Jury's Choice Award Winner
Best Short Film Kandado

The Gabi ng Parangal was hosted by Giselle Sanches.

The Parade of Stars was a fluvial parade in Pasig River instead of the traditional motorcade, a first in the history of the film festival.

While there's no official announcement yet of the topgrossers, some reports said horror films "The ExorSis" and "Huwag Kang Lalabas" among the front runners in the box office.

By virtue of Metro Manila Commission Executive Order No. 86-09, pursuant to Presidential Proclamation Nos. 1459, 1485, 1533, 1533-A and 1647, the MMFF is held during the Christmas Season in recognition of the role of the film industry in providing artistic depictions of both this country's stories and history.

MMFF nationwide screening runs from December 25 until January 7, 2022.

— The Summit Express

Add a comment here (0)
Previous Post Next Post