LIST: Presidentiable Leni Robredo's VP, Senatorial slate for Election 2022

    MANILA, Philippines – Vice President and presidential aspirant Leni Robredo has completed her 12-person Senatorial slate for the 2022 national elections.

    Presidentiable Leni Robredo's VP, Senatorial slate for Election 2022

    On Friday (October 15), Robredo officially named the 11 candidates included in her senate slate, including guest candidates — former Vice President Jejomar Binay, Senators Richard Gordon, Juan Miguel Zubiri and Joel Villanueva and Sorsogon Governor Francis "Chiz" Escudero.

    Among the initial list of senatorial candidates under Robredo's camp are Senators Leila de Lima and Risa Hontiveros and lawyer Chel Diokno.

    Robredo said they are still in the process of choosing the candidate for 12th Senate slot.

    “Kung napapansin nyo yung number 12 wala pa. ‘Yung number 12 gusto sana namin who will best represent the marginalized sectors,” Robredo said.

    “We have a number of nominees already pero gusto sana namin hindi ito desisyon ko lang… Gusto natin bigyan ng mas maraming boses yung mas maraming tao at niru-run by natin ito sa groups na nakikiisa sa atin,” she added.

    She revealed that former party-list lawmaker Neri Colmenares and labor leader Sonny Matula are among 5 nominees they are choosing from.

    UPDATE: On October 22, Robredo named labor leader and lawyer Sonny Matula as the 12th candidate on her senatorial slate.

    Robredo, running as an independent but is carried by the opposition Liberal Party and coalition 1Sambayan, tapped Senator Francis "Kiko" Pangilinan as her Vice President.

    Presidentiable Leni Robredo's VP is Kiko Pangilinan
    Vice President Leni Robredo and Sen. Francis Pangilian team up for Election 2022. Photo from Facebook/Leni Robredo

    Robredo said her running as an independent is her “symbolic” way of showing that she is open to unite with different political parties.

    Meanwhile, Pangilinan earlier said he is 'open' to be replaced to help Robredo win. Members of the opposition are reportedly still pushing for unification talks to other presidential contenders like Sen. Manny Pacquiao to strengthen the chances of beating the Duterte administration in 2022 elections.

    Meet Leni Robredo's VP, Senatorial slate for 2022 elections (as of October 15, 2021)

    2022 Election Position Candidate Political Party Current Position/Occupation
    President Leni Robredo Independent Vice President
    Vice President Kiko Pangilinan Liberal Party Senator
    Senator Teddy Baguilat Jr. Liberal Party Former Ifugao representative
    Jejomar Binay United Nationalist Alliance Former Vice President
    Leila de Lima Liberal Party Senator
    Chel Diokno Katipunan ng Nagkakaisang Pilipino Lawyer
    Chiz Escudero Nationalist People's Coalition Sorsogon Governor
    Richard Gordon Bagumbayan VNP Movement Senator
    Risa Hontiveros Akbayan Party Senator
    Alex Lacson Kapatiran Party Lawyer
    Antonio Trillanes IV Magdalo Former senator
    Joel Villanueva Independent Senator
    Migz Zubiri Independent Senator
    Sonny Matula Independent Lawyer

    LOOK: Leni Robredo's Senate slate for #Election2022. What do you think? Read: bit.ly/RobredoSenate2022

    Posted by The Summit Express on Friday, October 15, 2021

    NOTE: The Summit Express will also update this site for the official 2022 slate of other presidentiables and political parties.

    — The Summit Express

    No comments

    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad