Duterte announces new quarantine classification for December

MANILA, Philippines – President Rodrigo Duterte announced on Monday the new community quarantine classification to be implemented for the month of December.

Duterte announces new quarantine classification for December

Duterte approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) to keep Metro Manila and other areas under general community quarantine (GCQ) until December 31.

The cities of Iloilo, Tacloban and Davao, as well as the provinces of Batangas, Lanao del Sur and Iligan will also be under GCQ.

The rest of the country will be under modified GCQ, the the loosest quarantine classification.

The Metro Manila Council (MMC) has agreed to recommend to President Duterte the retention of the general community quarantine in the National Capital Region (NCR) until the end of the year to contain COVID-19.

With the latest announcement of quarantine classification, no region in the country is subject to the strictest quarantine classifications of Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) and Modified ECQ.

As of Monday, the Department of Health (DOH) put the total number of COVID-19 cases in the Philippines at 431,630 after confirming 1,773 new cases. Active cases are now at 24,580, while there are 398,658 recoveries and 8,392 deaths.

— The Summit Express

Add a comment here (0)
Previous Post Next Post