Lakers win 17th NBA title

MANILA, Philippines – It’s been 10 years since the Los Angeles Lakers won the NBA title. Today, the Lakers are once again World Champions as they finished off the Miami Heat, 106-93 on Monday, October 12 (Manila Time) in Florida, USA.

Lakers win 17th NBA title
LeBron James cemented his legacy after winning his 4th NBA title and 4th NBA Finals MVP. Photo credit:

On one hand, the LA Lakers could’ve won Game 5 a couple of days ago. But, Danny Green widely missed the game-winner.

The Miami Heat, with all confidence, believed that they could win another one and even close the series out.

The Lakers were very dominant in the inside led by Anthony Davis while the Heat owned the three point territory spearheaded by Duncan Robinson.

12 minutes had gone by and the Lakers topped the Heat by 8, 28-20.

LeBron James who had an outstanding performance in the previous game tried to replicate his numbers in Game 6. James manhandled Bam Adebayo and gave the Lakers their first double-digit advantage in the 2nd quarter.

Aside from James, veteran guard Rajon “Playoff Rondo” played like he’s on his peak who also had double-figures in the second.

With James, Davis and Rondo in double-digits, the Lakers wrapped up the 1st half with a 64-36 big lead.

Nothing worked well for the Heat as the Lakers continued to keep pouring it on in the 3rd quarter.

Jimmy Butler who was terrific in the previous games was completely quiet together with super rookie Tyler Herro.

Heat point guard Goran Dragic finally suited up after missing 4 games in a row due to an ankle injury. Dragic however, didn’t make any impact in his return.

LA Lakers were just 12 minutes away from winning another title at the end of the 3rd period with an 87-58 advantage.

Miami Heat tried to come back in the final period and successfully trim the Lakers' 36-point lead to just 21 with over 8 minutes left in the game.

Despite the slowdown, LeBron James notched another triple-double, his 11th career finals and 35th career playoff triple-double.

At the 2-minute warning, Coach Erik Spoelstra waived the white flag as he pulled out the exhausted Jimmy Butler. In the same manner, Lakers’ Frank Vogel fielded in his reserves to finish the job.

106-93 is the final score as the LA Lakers conquered the NBA bubble and put their 17th NBA title on the books.

Aside from winning his 4th title, LeBron James also won the Finals MVP, his 4th career Finals MVP.

Congratulations, Lakers Nation! For Kobe!

— Joey Boy Capos, The Summit Express

Add a comment here (0)
Previous Post Next Post