Arroyo replaces Alvarez as new House Speaker

MANILA, Philippines – Pampanga 2nd district representative and former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo is now the new Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Arroyo replaces Alvarez as new House Speaker
Former president and Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal Arroyo replaced Rep. Pantaleon Alvarez as House Speaker, the Congress voted on Monday, minutes before President Duterte's 3rd State of the Nation Address (SONA).

Just hours before President Rodrigo Duterte gave his 3rd State of the Nation Address (SONA) on Monday, Arroyo took her oath as the new leader of the House as they formally ousted Pantaleon Alvarez. Arroyo is now the first female to hold the position.

Prior to the official announcement, Deputy Speaker Gwen Garcia already confirmed that they “briefly discussed” about a change of leadership. At about lunchtime, Alvarez’ allies including Garcia moved to suspend the session which eventually led to the delay of the ratification of the Bangsamoro Organic Law in time for the SONA. But shortly around 1:00 pm, House members started the session again and passed around the manifesto for Alvarez’s removal.

Sara’s plot?

There have been rumors that Alvarez’s removal was made by no less than Presidential daughter, Sara Duterte-Carpio after the two got into a feud. Inday Sara kept her mum on the issue and said, “No comment."

During Alvarez term as Speaker, he unseated 11 allies from their positions after they failed to support his death penalty bill. He earned the ire of the public when he threatened to give zero budget for those who will not support federalism but later clarified that it was only a joke. Alvarez also floated the idea of “no-el” or no election in 2019 to help support the change of constitution.

— Sally, The Summit Express

Previous Post Next Post