MMFF 2017 Day 1 results: Top grossing films update

MANILA, Philippines - The Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2017 committee announced that the first day of the festival was a success but refused to reveal the top grossing films.

Vice Ganda and Vic Sotto
Vice Ganda stars "The Revenger Squad", Vic Sotto stars "Meant To Beh." Photo courtesy of Instagram/praybeytbenjamin/bossingvicsotto

MMFF 2017 Executive Committe Member and Spokesperson Noel Ferrer in an Instagram post revealed that this year's festival exceeded the record 1st day box office gross of MMFF 2015. (Note: Previous MMFF saw a decline in earnings due to the exclusion of mainstream movies in the line up of official entries.)


In an interview with CNN Philippines on Tuesday, December 26, Ferrer was asked by Pinky Webb who's the top grosser.

Ferrer said, "Ah hindi pwede, you know why, the producers, Executive Committe (ExeCom) and even the theater owners vowed according to rule na wala maglalabas ng ranking, official earnings and box office gross because they want to help the films. Kapag nilabas mo yan, may bandwagon effect, kawawa naman [independent films]."

Ferrer added that the MMFF has stiffer penalties for early release of top-grossing films.


"Even Star Cinema and ABS-CBN cannot claim na number 1 sila. From Php 20,000 na fine, it was agreed to increase to Php 200,000."

Ferrer said the topgrossers will be named at the end of the festival or in January 2018.

DEVELOPING STORY: Once available, the list of top grossers will be posted on this site. Stay tuned.

The first 4 films selected for MMFF 2017 (as announced on June 30) were Derek Ramsey and Jennylyn Mercado's "All of You", Coco Martin's "Ang Panday", Vice Ganda, Daniel Padilla and Pia Wurtzbach's "Gandarrapiddo: The Revenger Squad" and Vic Sotto and Dawn Zulueta's "Meant To Beh."

WATCH: Metro Manila Festival (MMFF) 2017 eight official entries’ trailers

Other entries to the 43rd edition of MMFF (announced on November 17) are the comedy-drama "Deadma Walking" starring Joross Gamboa and Edgar Allan Guzman; horror film "Haunted Forest" starring Jane Oineza, Jameson Blake, Maris Racal, Jon Lucas; musical film "Ang Larawan" starring Rachel Alejandro, Paulo Avelino, Joanna Ampil; and the romance drama "Siargao" starring Jericho Rosales, Erich Gonzales and Jasmine Curtis-Smith.

The 2017 MMFF will run until the first week of 2018 in major cinemas nationwide.

The Gabi ng Parangal or MMFF 2017 awards night is set on December 27 in Kia Theater in Cubao, Quezon City. It will feature the newly designed trophy by art designer Clifford Espinosa of Espinosa Arts and Design.

— The Summit Express

Previous Post Next Post