#WalangPasok List: Palace declares February 2017 special holiday in some areas

MANILA, Philippines - Malacañang Palace has declared class and work suspensions for February 8,10,11,13,17,24 and 27, 2017 in selected areas.

Palace declares February 2017 special holiday in some areas

Executive Secretary Salvador C. Medialdea through the authority of President Rodrigo Roa Duterte signed proclamations No. 137 to 139 and 142 to 147, declaring special non-working holiday in Kidapawan City, Zamboanga Sibugay, General Santos City, Laoag City, Padre Burgos in Quezon, Parañaque City, Iriga City, Talisay, Negros Occidental and Godod, Zamboanga del Norte.

Proclamation No. 137: The city of Kidapawan celebrates its 19th Foundation Anniversary on February 12. However, the Office of the Mayor requested that Wednesday, February 8, be declared as special day instead of February 12, which falls on Sunday.

Proclamation No. 138: The province of Zamboanga Sibugay marks the celebration of its 16th Araw ng Sibugay on Friday, February 24.

Proclamation No. 139: The City of General Santos (GenSan) marks its 78th Foundation Anniversary and the 28th Kalilangan Festival on Monday, February 27.

Proclamation No. 142: The City of Laoag celebrates Pamulinawen Festival and "Laoag City Day" on Friday, February 10.

Proclamation No. 143: Celebration of Padre Burgos Day in the municipality of Padre Burgos, Quezon on Friday, February 17.

Proclamation No. 144: Celebration of the 19th cityhood anniversary of the City of Parañaque on Monday, February 13.

Proclamation No. 145: Celebration of Tinagba Festival, an ancient Bicolano First Harvest Offering, in the City of Iriga, Camarines Sur on Saturday, February 11.

Proclamation No. 146: Celebration of the 19th Charter Day of the City of Talisay, Negros Occidental on Saturday, February 11.

Proclamation No. 147: Celebration of the Founding Anniversary of the Municipality of Godod, Zamboanga del Norte on Wednesday, February 8.

UPDATE: Mandaluyong City Public Information Office has announced class suspension in public and private schools (all levels) for the 72nd Liberation Day and 23rd Cityhood Anniversary on Thursday, February 9.

Special Holiday Area Celebration
February 8 (Wedneday) Kidapawan City 19th Foundation Anniversary
February 8 (Wedneday) Godod, Zamboanga del Norte Founding Anniversary
*February 9 (Thursday) Mandaluyong City 72nd Liberation Day
February 10 (Friday) Laoag City Pamulinawen Festival
February 11 (Saturday) Iriga City, Camarines Sur Tinagba Festival
February 11 (Saturday) Talisay City, Negros Occidental 19th Charter Day
February 13 (Monday) Parañaque City 19th Cityhood
February 17 (Friday) Padre Burgos, Quezon Padre Burgos Day
February 24 (Friday) Zamboanga Sibugay 16th Araw ng Sibugay
February 27 (Monday) General Santos City 78th Foundation Anniversary

*Note: REPUBLIC ACT NO. 8814: February 9 of every year is hereby designated as a special working holiday in the City of Mandaluyong, in recognition and commemoration of the city's liberation from foreign occupying forces.

Malacañang Palace said that it is proper that the people on the said areas be given full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies.

As defined in the Administrative Code of 1987, Book III, Chapter 2, Section 4, Proclamations are "acts of the President fixing a date or declaring a status or condition of public moment or interest, upon the existence of which the operation of a specific law or regulation is made to depend, shall be promulgated in proclamations which shall have the force of an executive order."

RELATED STORY: Holidays, Observances in the Philippines for 2017

Previous Post Next Post