COMPLETE LIST: Winners, MMFF 2016 awards night

MANILA, Philippines - The 42nd Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) executive committe announced the complete list of winners at the 2016 awards night (Gabi ng Parangal) held on Thursday, December 29 at the Kia Theatre, Araneta Center in Quezon City.

COMPLETE LIST: Winners, MMFF 2016 awards night

The magic eight entries for the full-feature and new wave categories of the 2016 MMFF battled for the top acting awards and best picture.

Official entries for the refreshed season of MMFF are "Ang Babae sa Septic Tank 2: #ForeverIsNotEnough," "Die Beautiful," "Kabisera," "Oro," "Saving Sally," "Seklusyon," "Sunday Beauty Queen" and "Vince & Kath & James."

For the short films, entries include "Birds," "EJK," "Manila Scream," "Mga Bitoon sa Siudad," "Mitatang, "Momo," "Passage of Life" and "Sitsiritsit."

Paolo Ballesteros (Die Beautiful) and Irma Adlawan (Oro) won the MMFF 2016 Best Actor and Actress awards, respectively.

Meanwhile, Erik Matti for "Seklusyon" bagged the Best Director award. "Sunday Beauty Queen" was named Best Picture of the festival.

Here's the complete list of winners for the 2016 MMFF:

Major Awards Winners
Best Picture Sunday Beauty Queen
Best Actress Irma Adlawan, Oro
Best Actor Paolo Ballesteros, Die Beautiful
Best Director Erik Matti, Seklusyon
Best Supporting Actress Phoebe Walker, Seklusyon
Best Supporting Actor Christian Bables, Die Beautiful
Best Ensemble Cast Oro
Best Screenplay Seklusyon
Best Editing Sunday Beauty Queen
Best Cinematography Seklusyon
Best Production Design Seklusyon
Best Sound Design Seklusyon
Best Musical Score Saving Sally
Best Theme Song Dominus Miserere by Francis de Veyra,Seklusyon

Special Awards Winners
Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award Sunday Beauty Queen
FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence Oro
Male Celebrity of the Night Ronnie Alonte
Female Celebrity of the Night Rhian Ramos
Best Float Award Die Beautiful
42nd MMFF My Most Favorite Film Die Beautiful
Children's Choice Vince & Kath & James
Saving Sally
Sunday Beauty Queen
Special Jury Prize Rhed Bustamante, Seklusyon

Short Films Category Awards Winners
Best Picture EJK
Special Jury Prize Manila Scream
Best Screenplay Mitatang

The television coverage of the awards night was produced by Viva Entertainment and was shown via delayed basis on IBC-13.

On a mission to celebrate the Filipino’s artistic excellence, and to champion the sustainability of the Philippine film industry, the MMFF pronounced a cinematic revolution - refitted its board of directors and has implemented new selection criteria for submitting filmmakers.

The festival kicked off with the "simpler" Parade of Stars on December 23. All 8 movies hit theaters on Sunday, December 25, with Eugene Domingo's "Ang Babae Sa Septic Tank 2," Paolo Ballesteros' "Die Beautiful," Dominic Roque's "Seklusyon" and Julia Barretto's "Vince and Kath and James" leading the box office in terms of earnings.

Nationwide screening is set until January 3, 2017 or four days shorter than the run of the last 16 editions of the film festival.

By virtue of Metro Manila Commission Executive Order No. 86-09, pursuant to Presidential Proclamation Nos. 1459, 1485, 1533, 1533-A and 1647, the MMFF is held during the Christmas Season in recognition of the role of the film industry in providing artistic depictions of both this country's stories and history.

The 2016 MMFF is the first edition under the leadership of MMDA General Manager and MMFF Overall Chairman Thomas Orbos.

Previous Post Next Post