La Salle beats Ateneo, reclaims UAAP volleyball crown

MANILA, Philippines - The De La Salle University (DLSU) Lady Spikers bounced back as they won UAAP Women's Volleyball title after defeating archrivals Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU) Lady Eagles on Saturday, April 30 at the SMART-Araneta Coliseum.

La Salle beats Ateneo, clinches UAAP Season 78

DLSU's Kim Dy, Mika Reyes and Ara Galang avenged their Season 76 and Season 77 losses after winning set 2 to 4 of the do-or-die Game 3, 25-21 25-16 and 25-14. The latest victory gives the Taft-based girls their ninth championship title 2000, 2004-2006, 2009, 2011-2013 and 2016.

Dy with 17 points highlighted by 16 attacks in the deciding victory was named Finals MVP.

"Sumunod lang talaga sa game plan yung team after we review Game 2 results," DLSU Coach Ramil de Jesus said as he also thanked all supporters of the Lady Spikers.

The three-time MVP Alyssa Valdez led ADMU with 30 points claiming set one, 25-19.

UAAP Season 78 La Salle vs. Ateneo results

The rivalry match between La Salle and Ateneo set a record-breaking attendance of 22,848.

The girls from Katipunan forced Game 3 of the championship series against DLSU after dropping the Game 1 of the best-of-three finals, 25-22 25-22 25-21, and going down 18-25 and 26-28 in the first two sets of Game 2. Ateneo then staged a comeback, overcoming the Lady Spikers in the next three sets, 25-17 25-16 15-11.

The intense match featured graduating seniors of Ateneo who played their last games in the league and have undeniably made the sport more popular such as Valdez and her teammate Amy Ahomiro.

De La Salle has powerhouse trio of super seniors in Galang, Reyes, and Cyd Demecillo, who was anchored by Season 78 Best Setter and MVP contender Kim Fajardo.

The Far Eastern University (FEU) Lady Tamaraws ranked third in the UAAP Season 78 volleyball tournament.

Previous Post Next Post