List of Passers: OWWA Scholarship Exam Results AY 2015-2016

    MANILA, Philippines - The Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA) officially released recently the results of Education for Development Scholarship Program (EDSP) exam and Congressional Migrant Workers Scholarship Program (CMWSP) exam for AY 2015-2016 conducted last September 21, 2014 in DOST-designated centers in Manila and in the provinces.

    OWWA logo

    OWWA has named the top 200 qualifiers or passers of the EDSP out of the 4,734 dependents of active member-OFWs who took the examinations, including the 346 dependents of member-OFWs in the Middle East.

    The number of awardees under the EDSP was increased to 200 slots starting last year to give opportunities to deserving dependents of OWWA members to continue their studies through the scholarship programs offered by OWWA.

    According to Administrator Calzado, scholars under EDSP are provided with a maximum education assistance of Php60,000.00 per school year, for bachelor degree courses in any college or university of their choice.

    “We, at OWWA, are pleased every time that we hear about the achievements of our scholars considering the fact that one or both of their parents are not around to guide them in their studies. Be that as it may, they are able to draw inspiration and strength from the situation. This positive attitude and strong character made them more mature and responsible to do their best and make their parents proud of them, which made them truly laudable,” the OWWA Chief said.

    Aside from EDSP, OWWA offers other scholarship and training grants to dependents of active OWWA members such as the Congressional Migrant Workers Scholarship Program (CMWSP), OFW Dependents Scholarship Program (ODSP), Education and Livelihood Assistance Program (ELAP), Skills-for-Employment Scholarship-Program (SESP), Skills Upgrading Program for Seafarers (SUP), and Information Technology Program.

    This year, OWWA has named the 44 qualifiers out of the 352 examinees with scholarship grant funded by the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office (PCSO).

    The CMWSP is a 4-5 year scholarship program established under Republic Act 8042 which grants educational financial assistance to deserving migrant workers and/or their dependents, who intend to pursue courses in the field of science and technology identified by the Department of Science and Technology-Science Education Institute (DOST-SEI). Scholars under the program receive assistance of P60,000.00 per school year.

    Here's the alphabetical list of 2015 EDSP and CMWSP qualifiers as released by OWWA:

    2015 EDSP and CMWSP qualifiers as released by OWWA

    OWWA Scholarship Exam Topnotchers

    RAMON ASPERA GALVAN lll of the Hua Siong College (Ledesco Campus), Region 6, Iloilo City, ranks number 1 in the roster of qualifiers for OWWA’s EDSP Exam.

    Over-all, NCR ranked number 1 with 40 top qualifiers, followed by 35 from Region lV-A. The regional distribution for the rest were Middle East, 20; Region lll, 17; Region Vl, 16; Region Vll, 14; Region Xl, 11; CAR, 10; Region V, 9; Region l, 6; Region X, 5; Region Vlll, 4; Region ll, 4; Region Xll, 3; Region lX, 3; Caraga, 2; and Region lV-B, 1.

    Here's the list of the Top 10 EDSP Scholars for 2015

    •  RAMON ASPERA GALVAN lll, Hua Siong College of Iloilo, Region 6
    • NATHANIEL ADRIAND CARPIO DE OCAMPO, Quezon City Science High School, NCR
    • JAMES QUIN BATERNA MARANAN, Philippine Science High School, Quezon City, NCR
    • AZEL BALBON AMADA, Silliman University High School, Dumaguete City,Negros Oriental, Region 7
    • BHEE-JAY LADERAS ROBLES, Holy Spirit Academy of Malolos, Bulacan, Region 3
    • LANCE ARCILLA HERNANDEZ, International Philippine School in Al Khobar, Al Khobar, KSA
    • ENGELICA VALLE PEREZ, First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities, Batangas, Region 4-A
    • RAY CHRISTOPHER MACARINE PASCUAL, Holy Cross of Sasa, Inc., Davao City, Region 11
    • ANGELA MARIE MA√ĎALAC, Colegio de San Juan de Letran, Laguna, Region 4-A
    • JAN REGGIE TOREMOTHA, Valenzuela City School of Mathematics and Sciences, Valenzuela City, NCR

    Meanwhile, AIAN CHESTER CONCORDIA TUNGPALAN, student of Saint Joseph High School, Flora Apayao, Cordillera Autonomous Region (CAR), is this year’s topnotcher for CMWSP exams.

    Here's the list of the Top 10 CMWSP Scholars for 2015

    • AIAN CHESTER CONCORDIA TUNGPALAN, Saint Joseph High School, Apayao, CAR
    • AILYN BOGEN SALUNGASING, Baguio City National High School, Baguio City, CAR
    • SALAHUDIN ABOLAIS DATU-DACULA; Ranao Council Al-Khwarizmi International College-Science Laboratory School, Marawi City, ARMM
    • XAVIER LEMMVELLE CASTRO ROMANO, University of St. Louis, Tuguegarao City, Region 2
    • JAYHART V. RAMIREZ, Ifugao State University, Ifugao, CAR
    • FRANCIS DIWA CORDOVA, Saint Tonis College, Inc., Tabuk City, Kalinga, CAR
    • ROBINSON MOHAMAD ESTEPA, Cotabato City State Polytechnic College-Laboratory School, Cotabato City, ARMM
    • JERICK BANTAYAN AYADI, Sta. Cruz Pingkian High School, Kayapa, Nueva Vizcaya, Region 2
    • FEBBY ANNE TAQUIQUI ABUZO, St. University Philippines, Tuguegarao City, Region 2
    • MARK JAYSON MOLINA AGUDA, Flora National High School , Flora Apayao, CAR

    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad