IN PHOTOS: Top 20 List of 'ASAP' homegrown superstars

    MANILA, Philippines – ABS-CBN’s “All-Star Sunday Afternoon Party” (ASAP) celebrates its 20th year and now considered as Asia’s longest-running and multi-awarded Sunday noontime musical variety show that has produced some of the country’s brightest and most talented showbiz superstars.

    This year, the grandest reunion of “ASAP” constellation of stars will happen this Sunday, February 22, 2015 at the SM Mall of Asia Arena.

    In time for the “ultimate throwback” of the 20 successful years of entertainment, ABS-CBN has released today the top 20 superstars whose careers started in “ASAP.” Take a look on the list ans photos below:

    20. Dayanara Torres

    Miss Universe 1993 Dayanara Torres became an instant TV superstar in the Philippines when she was introduced as one of the main hosts of “ASAP” on February 5, 1995 along with Martin Nievera, Pops Fernandez, and Ariel Rivera. Dayanara’s weekly showcase of her dancing prowess through her segment, “SayawNara,” gained her the title “Dancing Queen.”

    Danayara Torres

    19. JCS Band

    Launched in 2000, the JCS band was composed of the group’s drummer, John Prats, singer-guitarist Carlo Aquino and guitarist/bassist Stefano Mori. JCS was considered back then as the “Hanson of The Philippines” as they were likened to the ’90s hit American band, Hanson.

    JCS Band

    18. Pare Konnection

    Being the home of the country’s brightest teen sensations, “ASAP” introduced the group Pare Konnection in 1995. It featured a mix of upcoming teenage stars from ABS-CBN’s Talent Center (now known as Star Magic) and the cast of the box-office hit movie “Pare Ko,” namely Claudine Barretto, Jao Mapa, Gio Alvarez, Roselle Nava, Victor Neri, Nikka Valencia, and Jolina Magdangal.

    PARE KOnnection

    17. ASAP POPables

    ABS-CBN’s teleserye princes, Gerald Anderson, Xian Lim, Enchong Dee, and Rayver Cruz were introduced as the newest “kilig” boy group of “ASAP” in 2012.


    16. Gimme 5

    In 2013, the country found the answer to UK’s phenomenal pop boy band One Direction in the show’s fresh sing-and-dance boy group named Gimme 5. It consists of five talented and charming teen heartthrobs including Nash Aguas, Joaquin Reyes, John Bermundo, Grae Fernandez, and Brace Arquiza.

    gimme 5

    15. Kanto Boys Jr.

    Kanto Boys Jr. was considered by many as the cutest “ASAP” boy group ever. The kiddie version of Kanto Boys was introduced in 2013 with Kapamilya child wonders Bugoy Cariño, Clarence Delgado, lzzy Canillo, and Zaijian Jaranilla composing the wacky yet charming group.

    Kanto Boys Jr

    14. ASAP Supahdance

    Week in, week out, “ASAP’s” center stage fires up as the show’s homegrown dance royalties rule the stage with their heart stopping, breathtaking dance performances. Among ASAP Supahdance’s pride are Kim Chiu, John Prats, Rayver Cruz, Maja Salvador, Shaina Magdayao, Iya Villania, and Bugoy Cariño.

    ASAP Supah Dance

    13. UD4

    In 2006, ASAP launched a brand new dance group called Ultimate Dance 4 or UD4 composed of John Prats, Rayver Cruz, Shaina Magdayao, and Maja Salvador.


    12. MASH

    Teleserye princesses Maja Salvador and Shaina Magdayao wowed the audience when they were revealed in 2013 as the newest dancing duo following the sensation made by the Clash Dance segment in the early 2000’s featuring sexy Regine Tolentino and Angela Velez.


    11. YRS

    In 2009, “ASAP” introduced its all-female singing trio called YRS composed of Yeng Constantino, Rachelle Ann Go, and Sarah Geronimo.


    10. ASAP HD

    The show’s “primera bireteras”–multiplatinum recording star Angeline Quinto and “The Voice of the Philippines” alumni Klarisse De Guzman and Morissette Amon—was launched as the ASAP Homegrown Divas.


    9. ASAP Sessionistas

    ASAP Sessionistas began melting the hearts of hopeless romantic Pinoys in 2009. It brought together some of the best names in live music entertainment like Aiza Seguerra, Nina, Richard Poon, Duncan Ramos, Sitti, and Chin.

    ASAP Sessionistas

    8. Gigger Boys

    Seven equally talented and good-looking Kapamilya young actors formed the dance crew Gigger Boys in 2008. The swoon-worthy group was composed of Enchong Dee, Robi Domingo, Sam Concepcion, Arron Villaflor, Dino Imperial, Chris Gutierrez, and AJ Perez (†).

    ASAP Gigger Boys

    7. Coverboys

    In 2006, the “ASAP” dancefloor was turned into a semi-catwalk as the show launched an all-hot men group composed of some of ABS-CBN’s hottest models and actors including Jake Cuenca, Rafael Rosell, Jon Avila, Victor Basa, Will Devaughn, and Zanjoe Marudo.

    ASAP Coverboys

    6. ASAP Boyfriendz

    ASAP continued to melt the hearts of girls in 2012 as it formed a trio of cute, talented, and spellbinding young men–Enrique Gil, Khalil Ramos, and Daniel Padilla.

    Khalil, Enrique, Daniel

    5. Koolits

    Before John Lloyd Cruz was known for his critically-acclaimed drama movies and box-office romantic comedy hits, he was first followed by “ASAP” viewers with Baron Geisler and Marc Solis as the dance cuties of the teen trio, Koolits, which was launched in 1999.

    ASAP Koolits

    4. IT Girls

    In the tradition of grooming the next generation’s hottest stars and groups, “ASAP” paved the way for discovering the true talents of Anne Curtis, Bea Alonzo, Nikki Gil, Iya Vilania, Maja Salvador, Shaina Magadayao, and Toni Gonzaga, who formed the first batch of “It Girls” in 2008.

    ASAP IT Girls

    3. Kanto Boys

    Kanto Boys was a breath of fresh air for “ASAP” in 2009. Every week, viewers looked forward to the wacky antics and new gimmicks on stage courtesy of John Lloyd Cruz, Luis Manzano, Billy Crawford, and Vhong Navarro.

    Kanto Boys

    2. The Hunks

    The Hunks is undoubtedly the most successful boy band that “ASAP” has ever produced over the years. It was launched in 2001 with Piolo Pascual, Jericho Rosales, Diether Ocampo, Carlos Agassi, and Bernard Palanca forming the singing and dancing quintet.

    The Hunks

    1. ASAP Champions

    Known and awarded as the country’s best musical variety show, “ASAP” is dedicated to discover and take pride in showcasing pure Filipino talent just like how it put the spotlight in 2004 to its most remarkable singing group called “The Champions” composed of reality singing competition winners, namely, Sarah Geronimo, Erik Santos, Rachelle Ann Go, Sheryn Regis, Frenchie Dy, Jerome Sala, Mark Bautista, and Christian Bautista.

    ASAP Champions

    Comment Section

    Other Stories

    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad