9 new senators proclaimed 4 days after election

Manila, Philippines - Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Friday night, May 17 proclaimed another batch of winners on the senatorial race for 2013 midterm elections. Three (3) more senators are added on the list 4 days after the poll.

Based on 113 certificates of canvass by the NBOC, Bam Aquino, Koko Pimentel and Antonio Trillanes are the new senators-elect and ranked 7th to 9th. The 3 are all Team Pnoy candidates.

Bam Aquino, cousin of President Benigno Aquino III is the only senator-elect on the proclamation. Trillanes is out of town with his family while Pimentel is ill according to Comelec Chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr.

In addition, Pimentel also believes that proclamation is still premature. 'Unaccounted votes may still affect our standing", he said.

Last night, Comelec proclaimed top six senators amid some protests from United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) to suspend early proclamation of winners.

New senator-elect yesterday are Grace Poe, Loren Legarda, Alan Peter Cayetano, Francis Escudero and Sonny Angara under Team Pnoy and Nancy Binay from United Nationalist Alliance (UNA).

Binay skipped proclamation due to UNA's protest against partial proclamation.


Previous Post Next Post