Comelec announces 33 official senatorial candidates for May 2013 Elections

    The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) announces official list of Senatorial candidates for May 2013 National Elections. There were 33 official candidates  and 52 nuissance as declared by Comelec Chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr..

    Brillantes said that five (5) additional candidates were added in the list which is dominated by Liberal Party (LP) and United Nationalist Alliance (UNA).

    “There are 32 senatorial candidates. There’s already a resolution, which is being passed around for signatures (of commissioners),” Brillantes said.

    Update: Bro Eddie Villanueva joins senatorial race, 33rd on the list. He substituted for Bangon Pilipinas senatorial candidate Israel Virgines, who withdrew his candidacy.

    The following names composed the 32 official list of candidates for May 2013 Senatorial Elections.

    Additional names as announced by Brillantes are:
    1. Ricardo Penson (independent)
    2. Samson Alcantara (Social Justice Society)
    3. Greco Antonious Beda Belgica (Democratic Party of the Philippines)
    4. Baldomero Falcone (Democratic Party of the Philippines)
    5. Christian Señeres(Democratic Party of the Philippines)

    9 Candidates from Administration slate:
    6. Paolo Benigno “Bam” Aquino IV
    7. Former Las Pinas City Rep. Cynthia Villar
    8. Former Akbayan Rep. Ana Theresia “Risa” Hontiveros-Baraquel
    9. Former Senator Maria Ana Consuelo “Jamby” Madrigal
    10. Former Senator Ramon Magsaysay Jr
    11. Aurora Rep. Juan Edgardo Angara
    12. Senator Alan Peter Cayetano
    13. Senator Antonio Trillanes IV
    14. Senator Aquilino Martin Pimentel 3rd

    Poll body from Jejomar Binay’s UNA:
    15. Maria Lourdes Nancy Binay
    16. Margarita “Tin-Tin” Cojuangco,
    17. Former Senator Richard “Dick” Gordon,
    18. Former Senator Ernesto Maceda
    19. Former Senator Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri
    20. San Juan City Rep. Joseph Victor “JV” Ejercito
    21. Zambales Rep. Maria Milagros “Mitos” Magsaysay
    22. Cagayan Rep. Juan Ponce “Jack” Enrile Jr.
    23. Senator Gregorio “Gringo” Honasan

    Common Candidates from UNA and LP:
    24. Movie and Television Review and Classification Board (MTRCB) chair Grace Poe-Llamanzares
    25. Senator Francis “Chiz” Escudero
    26. Senator Loren Legarda

    Other Candidates are:
    27. John Carlos De Los Reyes
    28. Marwil Llasos
    29. Rizalito David
    30. Former Philippine Constabulary chief Ramon Montaño
    31. Puerto Princesa Mayor Edward Hagedorn
    32. Bayan Muna party-list Rep. Teodoro “Teddy” Casiño
    33. Bro. Eddie Villanueva

    Comelec said that 52 candidates who filed COC are nuissance and requested to question the legality of their decision before the Supreme Court.

    Nuissance candidate is a popular term for those who want to run for election just to confuse the public but have no financial means for the nationwide campaign. Some nuissance candidates are also mentally unfit for the job.

    Many react on the disqualification of the so called "nuissance" and said it is anti-poor move and possess discrimination. Many believe that it is a way to break the dynasty evolving in politics for long time. There are also other ways to conduct nationwide campaign aside from promotions thru television which is expensive. There is a social media which is a cheaper means.

    However, majority believe that it's better not to accept nuissance candidates because it's more practical for the cost of elections. Imagine there is additional page in the ballot for the nuissance and need to print in millions, that is expensive. The probability of winning for nuissance is also small and given the fact majority of them have intentions to just gain popularity on public.

    TheSummitExpress believes that if the intention is good for running Senatorial election, why not question the legality of disqualification as advised by COMELEC.

    Senatorial elections is scheduled on May 13, 2013. Twelve (12) senators of 24 seats  will be proclaimed and will comprise 16th Congress. 12 senators to be elected will going to serve up to June 30, 2019 while the senators elected in 2010 will serve until June 30, 2016 only.

    However, due to the appointment of incumbent Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago in the International Criminal Court, her Senate seat may be vacated and would pave the way for the election of a thirteenth Senator in 2013. However, the 13th senator will only serve for the remaining three years of Defensor-Santiago's unexpired term.

    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad